Easy Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I was craving chocolate dessert one nite and came across this recipe. It wasn't bad, I just don't like the instant pudding taste.. BUT I modified it the second time and it came out BETTER! I added about 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chip in the recipe. I first melted the chocolate chip with half of the milk in the recipe (for extra milky favor, use evaporated milk instead) in a pan in very low heat (and keep stirring). Add that milk chocolate mixture to the pudding mix. Then pour the rest of the cold milk and mix together until smooth. Put that pudding in the fridge for half and hour (make sure it is cold). Then fold in the whipped topping afterward and watch that pudding become fluffy, just dont over mix or you will get a blah of chocolate 1/2 mousse 1/2 pudding cross-breed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
I used real whipped cream instead of Cool Whip and it was a huge HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Something is missing with this recipe. I think there may be too much cool whip. Try using only one 8 oz. container of cool whip and only use the very dark chocolate pudding. Looks great with a Pepperidge Farm piroullet cookie served in it as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My husband and I are chefs and we loved this recipe. We cut down on the cool whip by half and used chocolate milk to make the pudding mix to increase the flavor. We also added chopped up milky way bars to the mix for zip and served with raspberry sauce and chocolate drizzle. It is not restaurant grade mousse by far, however I would make this at home any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Tastes OK for kids, but instant pudding and cool whip isn't a recipe. This isn't a mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I altered the recipe a bit. Instead of 1 1/2 cup milk I used 2 packs of chocolate pudding and only 2 1/2 cups of milk. This way the pudding was nice and thick and intensify the chocolate flavor. Also Instead of a 16 oz container of Cool Whip I used 2- 6 oz containers of Chocolate Cool Whip. It tastes creamy, it's thick and delicious! I think you could even add chocolate chips for something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
While I am sure this did not taste exactly like "real" chocolate mousse, it was divine and I proudly seved it to guests last night for dinner. I added a little Bailey's and made a raspberry sauce to go with it. I served it in chilled wine glasses and it looked very impressive. Don't let the simple recipe for you, this doesn't have to be just for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was a quick, easy pudding dessert. It tastes good and kids would like it. It does not meet the qualifications for a mousse. I suggest the Hershey's recipe if you want a delicious mousse for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This tastes like instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I made this with fat free milk and lite whipped topping and it was absolutely delicious. The only problem was I could'nt stop eating it. My seven year old who is very picky even liked this. Try it you'll like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States