Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I made this cake for our Valentine's Tango Workshop, and it almost disappeared before I got any. I used a bundt pan which made the cake look very elegant once it was finished. I had to substitute unsweetened baking chocolate for the cocoa powder, but it still worked great. This cake is so easy and cook-friendly, I was actually able to make it without any measuring instruments (They were all "mising in action" the day I had to bake). This cake will be making many reappearances at my dessert tables, I can't wait to make it for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
I made this cake for a dinner party lastnight but instead of a 9 x 13 pan, I used a bundt cake pan. This was another good option, because some of the chocolate sauce was left in the middle of the cake to be served with each piece later. It was fantastic! My cousin who normally does not eat much dessert, asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a good way to make somethng more special out of a cake mix. It tasted a lot better the next day. I made it in a bundt cake pan, but that was a VERY BAD idea. When you stick the cake with the fork, IF you can get the sauce to soak in, which is a pain, then your cake cracks into pieces when it does soak in! So make it in a 13x9 for sure!!! I made it a second time in the 13X9 and what a difference! it was like a different cake. This cake is supposed to be made in a 13X9 & left in the pan so that when you pour the fudge sauce on it, it can soak in. That doesn't work with a bundt or other "take out of the pan" cake. You aren't supposed to take it out of the pan at all. That is why so many reviewers say there is too much sauce. So make it in a 13X9 pan and leave it in the pan, and it tastes much better after it sets for a day for flavors to mix, if you can wait that long. It takes the "cake mix" flavor out of it. (I used a cheap aldi's devils food cake mix).I made my rating on the taste of the 13X9 cake a day later and how good it would have been if I'd followed the instructions both times instead of listening to the other people who had made it in a bundt pan. In a bundt pan it just tastes like a cake mix cake with some sauce poured on it, in the 13X9, it's dessert! Also I just used 2T more margarine and whole milk as a substitute for the cream. I couldn't see any reason to buy anything special for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Can I just say....OMG. This recipe is easily one of the best, if not THE best I have tried on this site. Not only is it easy to make, the results are absolutely phenomenal. I brought this cake to dinner at a friend's house and "cake bombed" (left the leftovers with her so I wouldn't eat 'em all!) her. She and her husband couldn't stay out of this cake! Two warnings: 1. DEFINITELY grease AND flour the pan. The cake is so gooey it really does stick. 2. Only make this if you have friends to share it...otherwise, I promise you, you WILL eat the whole thing yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This cake was sooooooooooooo good. My husband and I ate it hot out of the oven. I sent the recipe to several friends immediately after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I served this to friends last night and everyone loved it! I did use the suggestion of baking it in a bundt pan it came out great. I served it with fresh whipped cream, raspberries and I drizzeled extra fudge sauce over the whole thing...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It is good, but just really messy. Kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osuang

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I made this cake on 2/13/05, I used Devil's Food Cake mix and skipped the walnuts, but this was one of the BEST desserts I have ever had. Make this for your Chocolate lovers, it is kind of rich and best served with ice cream, cool whip or something cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
SO easy and people thought I bought it at the store! I made this in a bunt pan as people recommended and then I poured the fudge on top and made sure to fill most of the fudge into the middle of the bunt. When you do this make sure your cake is on a pan with edges so the sauce doesn't get all over the counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was alright. Satisfied a chocolate fix. Used a German Chocolate mix, so the sweetness of the fudge balanced it. Used lowfat milk with about a Tbsp of cornstarch in the sauce. Not terribly thick, but enough. Soaked into the cake perfectly. Agree that it should be served with ice cream or whipped cream...and a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States