Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a good way to make somethng more special out of a cake mix. It tasted a lot better the next day. I made it in a bundt cake pan, but that was a VERY BAD idea. When you stick the cake with the fork, IF you can get the sauce to soak in, which is a pain, then your cake cracks into pieces when it does soak in! So make it in a 13x9 for sure!!! I made it a second time in the 13X9 and what a difference! it was like a different cake. This cake is supposed to be made in a 13X9 & left in the pan so that when you pour the fudge sauce on it, it can soak in. That doesn't work with a bundt or other "take out of the pan" cake. You aren't supposed to take it out of the pan at all. That is why so many reviewers say there is too much sauce. So make it in a 13X9 pan and leave it in the pan, and it tastes much better after it sets for a day for flavors to mix, if you can wait that long. It takes the "cake mix" flavor out of it. (I used a cheap aldi's devils food cake mix).I made my rating on the taste of the 13X9 cake a day later and how good it would have been if I'd followed the instructions both times instead of listening to the other people who had made it in a bundt pan. In a bundt pan it just tastes like a cake mix cake with some sauce poured on it, in the 13X9, it's dessert! Also I just used 2T more margarine and whole milk as a substitute for the cream. I couldn't see any reason to buy anything special for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Holy cow this was decadent. Emphasis on the fudgey. Me and my MIL ate it with a fork right off the cake plate. Made with a decorative bundt pan and sprinkled with powder sugar it could have gotten along fine without the fudge drizzle. Major girl bonding moment over this little cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
EZ AND YUMMY CAKE! Left out the nuts..otherwise, I followed recipe exactly. This cake was a huge hit. I think next time I make this, I will throw in some dried cherries. Thanks Colleen for taking the time to post this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My goodness. I really messed this up somehow. The box cake was, of course, fine. The fudge sauce was grainy. I cooked it at a full boil for 2 min. I then added the extract. Poured it over the cake as you are suppose to. Maybe the white sugar should have been confectioners. Really turned out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! I always have cake mixes on hand for emergency desserts and I normally have all the other ingredients except for the whipping cream. I recently made this cake for a girlfriend's birthday (she's a chocaholic) and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
verygood and very rich, but easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My boyfriend is a chocola holc and loved this cake. It was so easy and soooo yummie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this for my choco-holic step-daughter's birthday. Everyone that tried it really liked it. I'm not a big chocolate fan, so I did not indulge. It was very easy to make, which is a plus! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
SO easy and people thought I bought it at the store! I made this in a bunt pan as people recommended and then I poured the fudge on top and made sure to fill most of the fudge into the middle of the bunt. When you do this make sure your cake is on a pan with edges so the sauce doesn't get all over the counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This has become my second favorite recipe for chocolate cake. My favorite is chocolate melting cake from Carnival Cruises. The icing/glaze is what makes this recipe! I would like to make it with homemade chocolate cake as well....can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ann H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Hondo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States