Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Steph-Pepper
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I love this cake it's super quick and easy. If you like strawberry try it with a strawberry cake mix. It tastes like a choc covered strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Likely not the recipe, but rather me, but I got an uneven cake. So the sauce sorta pooled in the low areas. There seemed to be a bit too much of it too. As for taste, only a heartless person could so no to that much chocolate! This is a great way to dress up a plain chocolate cake from a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this as instructed. It was just ok to us. Kids gave it 3 stars. Hubby & I gave it 2 to 3. Just seemed boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is delicious! I used a 9x13 dish and followed the instructions to a tee. I might use 3/4 of the amount of sauce, but the entire batch works too - it looks like a not-quite-solid ganache. Omitted the walnuts. Would compliment strawberries - especially chocolate covered strawberries used to garnish the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing this. I omitted the walnuts since my husband doesn't like them. I have made this numerous times since it is now my husbands favorite cake! He tackles it never saw him eat that much cake. Making it right now !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and this was a great tasting moist cake! My whole family loved it, I will definately be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was alright. Satisfied a chocolate fix. Used a German Chocolate mix, so the sweetness of the fudge balanced it. Used lowfat milk with about a Tbsp of cornstarch in the sauce. Not terribly thick, but enough. Soaked into the cake perfectly. Agree that it should be served with ice cream or whipped cream...and a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is so yummy ! I very rarely bake with boxed cake mixes but this sounded good and I had a boxed chocolate cake mix so I gave it a try. You cannot tell it starts from a boxed cake mix !! My co-workers loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It is good, but just really messy. Kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osuang

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a good way to make somethng more special out of a cake mix. It tasted a lot better the next day. I made it in a bundt cake pan, but that was a VERY BAD idea. When you stick the cake with the fork, IF you can get the sauce to soak in, which is a pain, then your cake cracks into pieces when it does soak in! So make it in a 13x9 for sure!!! I made it a second time in the 13X9 and what a difference! it was like a different cake. This cake is supposed to be made in a 13X9 & left in the pan so that when you pour the fudge sauce on it, it can soak in. That doesn't work with a bundt or other "take out of the pan" cake. You aren't supposed to take it out of the pan at all. That is why so many reviewers say there is too much sauce. So make it in a 13X9 pan and leave it in the pan, and it tastes much better after it sets for a day for flavors to mix, if you can wait that long. It takes the "cake mix" flavor out of it. (I used a cheap aldi's devils food cake mix).I made my rating on the taste of the 13X9 cake a day later and how good it would have been if I'd followed the instructions both times instead of listening to the other people who had made it in a bundt pan. In a bundt pan it just tastes like a cake mix cake with some sauce poured on it, in the 13X9, it's dessert! Also I just used 2T more margarine and whole milk as a substitute for the cream. I couldn't see any reason to buy anything special for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States