Easy Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
We are 8 years old and we made them all by are selfs. They are the best cupcakes we have ever made. We did not have almond extract and they still are great. We enjoyed making them and eating them too. They are the best cupcakes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
THis was good. I made a couple of alterations, but not many. I changed the fat to oil after watching an episode of "Throwdown with Bobby Flay" on cupcakes and her (of course, he battled a woman!) secret ingredient was oil in the batter for a lighter brownie. I also added 12 oz chocolate chips, since my boys were begging me to make chocolate, chocolate chip cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I really liked this recipe. After reading some other reviews, and knowing that butter doesnt get used in cupcakes, I used 10 Tablespoons of oil instead of butter. I also think the cooking time is way off. I only cooked mine for 16 minutes, max! They turned out moist and wonderful. I love the hint of almond flavor you get as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe but unfortunately was disappointed. These cupcakes were *very dense* and not at all cake like (hence the word cup "cake"). I followed the recipe as stated. I only made half a batch which was 9 nice sized cupcakes. Also, I used my kitchen aid mixer but don't feel I over mixed the batter. Fortunately, i was able to "help" the taste but using the Peanut Butter & Banana Frosting recipe from this site (delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
these were the best chocolate cupcakes i have ever had! followed the recipe exactly and had zero problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I just made these an hour ago - I chose them because I only had unsweetened coco powder and not chocolate chocolate. The batter is like frosting itself and the cupcakes are so airy. I didn't use the almond extract, but that worked out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These cupcakes were great! I added 2 cups of milk and that did the trick. It made them moist and rich. I don't even like cupcakes, but these were amazing. Easy to make too. I had to make these because my dad just was released from the hospital and he craved these. I must say they were a bit lumpy but the were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The recipe is ok, the batter came out a little thick so I added a bit more milk and a dash of oil in it as well. However, after adding these it was still a little thick so I decided to make them into cookies instead. That worked out great! Just spoon out onto a cookie sheet, bake for about 8-10 minutes, cool, and add a bit of frosting. It's a great mix between a cupcake and a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy-Q

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Recipe was totally easy. I had fun just playing with the decorating on the frosting and toppings. The only thing I will say, is it's a good decent recipe, was a tad on the dry factor, not much, the flavor was pretty good. Just slightly dry when you swallow. I would add just a little bit more milk or pull out of the oven a couple of minutes prior to the baking time on this recipe. Otherwise, I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made these today and they are a HUGE hit! I did take note of other suggestions and I used 10 tablespoons of oil instead of butter, and 2 cups of milk instead of 3/4 cup. Mine came out moist and delicious! I would rate higher, but they weren't perfect...... but close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States