Easy Chocolate Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I loved how the Giradelli chocolate tasted in this recipe. I cut the serving size to 4 ramekins and it made 6. To my liking, I like my creme brulee to not taste like flavored cream but to be more custard like with vanilla or in this case chocolate. Instead it tasted more like chocolate cream instead of a custard. In my eyes, the best creme brulee is the one that keeps the ingredients secret because you can't decifer the individual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My first attempt at Creme Brulee with this recipe and it came out perfectly! I did as the Chef recommended by using more chocolate chips and pouring the hot cream/egg mixture OVER the chips for a few minutes to allow it to melt. The recipe says to MIX the hot cream/egg mixture with the chips, but I actually used the whisk for a few seconds which nicely blended the chocolate evenly into the cream mixture. Since my family is evenly split in their preference for either vanilla or chocolate creme brulee, I simply poured half of the hot cream/egg mixture into ramekins before adding the rest into the chocolate chips. Both vanilla and chocolate brulees turned out fabulous! Garnished with a few blackberries on top. I'll definitely make again for a dinner party or special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I am a pastry chef so this is a good basic recipe that needed some help. One I added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Second ladel only enough custard over the chocolate just to cover it and allow to melt. Whisk it till smooth. Then add the remaining custard. This will give you a smooth and uniformed chocolate cusrtard with out chocolate chunks. Then followed the recipe as stated. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I love that I didnt have to water-bath this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I couldn't give this recipe a better review for the same reasons of the person before me. I made revisions as I went along, however, and it came out amazing. First thing, I cut the recipe back to 4 servings, which resulted in 5 4oz servings. I used a pint of heavy whipping cream, mixed in the vanilla extract and added some fresh grated nutmeg. I warmed the cream until scalding and removed it from the heat, and carefully whipped in an 11 oz bag of 60% cacao Ghirardelli chocolate chips. In another bowl I mixed 4 egg yolks with 1/3 cup powdered sugar and then mixed that into the chocolate cream. Then into the ramekins, which I did stand in a bain-marie. (Which for me was a casserole dish with some water, with the ramekins sitting about 1/2 submerged) it is easy and cooks the creme brulee's to perfection. 30 minutes later at 350, they were perfect. I love breaking through the hardened sugar with my spoon. delish with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My 10-year-old daughter wanted to make chocolate creme brulee, and when I found this recipe I thought it just might be easy enough for her to make (with assistance, of course!). It turned out great! Creamy, perfect consistency and yummy! We only changed a couple of things: I changed the recipe to 4 servings on this site. It ended up making 6 very full 4oz ramekins. Check the size of your ramekins if you are unsure! This matters, and please note that this recipe states 6 oz size. All you have to do is adjust accordingly. Instead of using chocolate chips, my daughter selected a really nice chunk of milk chocolate (from the specialty grocer) we chopped off about 3/4 cup for the recipe to make sure it was chocolaty enough. Also, I used part heavy cream and part half-and-half, just to cut the richness a bit. It ended up taking a little longer to cook than stated; just keep watching them until they are "set" in the middle (not jiggly). Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious. I first made this recipe about 2 years ago. This has been a hit for parties... I sometimes make 2 or 3 different flavors of creme brulee but this is alway the show stopper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
i loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it iiiit's like heven in your mouth i love it then anything ihave ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I feel like there is a lot wrong with this recipe and that I can't give it a good review even though it turned out in the end - and I really hate giving poor reviews. I was suspicious of a couple of things when I started, but my brulee experience is limited - so I wasn't sure I knew enough to start questioning the recipe. I should have anyway. I think there is an error in the amount of cream. Even scaling this recipe down to 4 servings, I ended up with 6 - and my ramekins are larger than 6oz (I also think if the cream amount was corrected that there may be a better chocolate ratio to this). The cooking time is either too long, or the oven temp is too high. I pulled mine out of the oven after 15 minutes because it started to bubble(!). There isn't quite enough chocolate in this, which was okay when I garnished it with more - but not really okay on its own. I think adding a block or two of chocolate to the Creme Brulee recipe on this site is the route I'll go next time if I want a chocolate brulee. Thanks for the recipe anyway! We ended up enjoying it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States