Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I have made these several times and taken them to work. They are super easy and amazingly delicious. I have never refrigerated mine and they turn out fine. Make sure you roll them in a lot of powdered sugar though because the shortening really soaks it up. I have also made these cookies using a lemon cake mix rather than devils food, and they were delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
So soft and chewy! After I baked them, I realized that these cookies were just like the cookies that my mother used to put peanut butter chips into (no powdered sugar) but she lost the recipe.I will try that next time. I did not have any butter flavored shortening, so I just used softened margarine. The recipe was so easy that my 3 year old son did most of the work (including rolling in powdered sugar- big mess!) and they still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great recipe everyone couldn't believe it was a cake mix! They were so moist. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I used a supermoist triple chocolate fudge cake mix (it has mini-chocolate chips in the mix already) instead of the devil's food cake mix. Other than that change, I followed the recipe as is. Baked for exactly 9 minutes (I baked the first batch for 10 minutes and it wasn't as gooey as I like my cookies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These are so moist and delicious and soooo easy!! My daughter loved them! (and I couldn't stop eating them, just beware!) You can make these as little or as big as you want. And I was skeptical that they weren't done at first but they are such a moist cookie that it is very deceiving. One of my favorites now! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Very good. Didn't turn out as fluffy as I would have liked. Overall were really good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Yummy! These were delicious and SO easy! We served them to our dinner guests and everyone kept going back for more. This will be a regular in our cookie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wonderful. Very popular at party. I baked for 9 minutes and they were tender and delicious. Cannot wait to try the variation for snickerdoodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I don't care for the taste of shortening so I too used 1/2 cup margarine instead of the shortening. Before working the dough into balls, I put the dough in the fridge for atleast an hour. It made the dough easier to work with. I also waiting until the cookies came out of the oven then dusted them with the powdered sugar. I received many requests for this recipe and will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I totally changed this recipe and made some awesome snickerdoodles! I used a white cake mix and rolled the dough balls in a sugar/cinnamon mixture. They turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States