Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ChickieDee
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
These cookies tasted great. I did make a change though: Instead of using the 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening, I used 1/4 cup plain shortening, and 1/4 cup butter. I beat those two ingredients together with the eggs and water, with a handmixer. I stirred in the cake mix by hand. A TIP: My batter turned out to be very stickey. I didn't want to chill it and have to wait, so I just took small spoonfuls of the batter, dropped it in the confectioners sugar, covered it completely, THEN used my hands to mush it into a ball shape, while still in the sugar. They still looked pretty in my opinion! Check out my picture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickieDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These were ok. I think they tasted like a cake mix cake but looked like a cookie. Also, the turned out really flat and just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These went over very well and even looked great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
ooh the possibilities! I altered this recipe a bit based on another similar recipe - I used 1/2 C oil, cake mix & 2 eggs (with one box of cake mix). Was super easy and really good and I added some melted chocolate mints so it had a nice minty chocolaty taste. Next time, I think I'll add white chocolate chips, or maybe some almond extract and top with sliced almonds...or...so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is a fun recipe because it is so easy! I've made these cookies tons of times, and kids love 'em. I've tried this recipe with many different kinds of cake mix, such as: Yellow cake, Dark Chocolate, and Devil's food flavors. The yellow cake ones come out a little softer, and have a slightly different dough texture - I've learned. Anyway, all the flavors come out fine, and I reccomend you try it with all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe was simple and made very good cookies. I made the Easy Lemon Cookies the same day and my son thought that they all came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe is so easy!! I also put the dough in the fridge before baking. Also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1.5 cups of white chocolate chips. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this with a triple chocolate cake mix with mini chocolate chips. I also let the dough sit in the fridge for 1 hour and also let the cookies rest on the pan for 5 minutes before removing. They were a hit with my children as well as nieces/nephews! (grown-ups too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These were delicious! I had a little trouble mixing it with my hand mixer--should have used the Kitchen Aid. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These were delicious! Followed the instructions exactly- and they turned out perfectly. The family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States