Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I just keep making "this" cake. I did vanilla pudding/milk chocolate chips first, then chocolate pudding/semi-sweet chips, then lemon pudding/dried blueberries (that was wonderful!), then chocolate pudding/heath bits and milk chocolate chips, then pistachio pudding, then butterscotch pudding/mini-chips, and most recently, coconut pudding/mini-chips.. and they've all been big hits. most versatile and easily adapted recipe I've ever come across. In the process I've reduced the oil to 1/2 cup, and this last one was skimpy on the sour cream too (because I didn't have the full amount on hand).. I really think it's better with the less oil. (try the lemon/blueberry one.. yummm..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I should of reviewed this MUCH sooner. This is great. I made this cake for the first time back in December and have made it about 30 times. I sell cakes and pies out of my home and this is a big seller. The only problem I found was it takes 1.5 hours to cook instead of 55 to 60 min. I used the mini chips and have never had a problem. I use the whole 3/4 cup of oil. Anyone who states that this recipe did not turn out, needs to give up baking for they do not know what they are doing.I do use a Chocolate glaze instead of dusting with confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Very good and super moist (almost too moist)! I used vanilla pudding instead of choc. Most all of the chips sort of settled to the bottom of the cake during baking so perhaps mini choc chips could be used instead with more even results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I should of rated this recipe 2 years ago but better late than never. I have fixed this cake at lease 20 times and all I can say is EAZY and GREAT!! I do adjust the temperature for baking from 325 degree to 350 and bake for 50 minutes. At the 325 degrees it takes longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I first had this cake when my boss made it for me for my birthday-- but I had given her the recipe off this site. It was wonderful! Then I tried it for myself and it flopped! I baked it about 20 minutes longer than it said because it wouldn't get done, then the top got too dark- but when I tried to invert it onto a rack the top half stayed in the pan (but it still tasted really good so I put it in a ziploc and my fiance and I ate it with ice cream and hot fudge!!).....so then I tried it in 3 8 inch layer pans-- that worked pretty good, but lost the "pound cake" feel. FINALLY, I tried it again today with only 1/2 cup of the oil and I used 1 cup of choc chips-- and it turned out beautifully-- I'm taking it to work tomorrow for a co worker who is a chocaholic and I know he'll love it!! Just a note, though, I had to bake it for an hour and 20 minutes. My oven may be a little off, but I have a temp guage that said it was fine-- My point is-- if it doesn't work the first time, try, try again because this cake is one that you won't be able to resist!!!!! yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I made this yesterday for a friend's birthday using vanilla pudding, mini chocolate chips and peanut butter chips, and drizzled "satiny chocolate glaze" (from this site) over the top of the cake. It was wonderful! I did use about 1/2 cup oil and reduced the sugar to about 1/3 cup. Note that this is a very moist cake. I baked it for about 65 minutes because I didn't think it was getting done. It always seemed wet inside. I probably baked it a little too long - the inside was still very moist but the outside browned a bit too much. A very versatile and easy recipe. Thanks! 3/31/03 - I made this recipe for my Mom over the weekend. I used a white cake mix, lemon pudding and about 3/4 cup of dried blueberries. It was very good. So good that most of it is already gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I have made this cake twice now. My boys love it. My husbands co-workers said it was the best cake they had ever had. This one is definitely a keeper (Thanks!) I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup and the oil to 2/3 making the difference up with water. Saved a few calories(ha ha ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made this cake with vanilla pudding, because I didn't have chocolate. I used mini morsels instead of the bigger chocolate chips. I have tasted this cake both with chocolate and vanilla now and have to say that it is great both ways!! I wonder how it would be with either lemon or banana pudding? I also used loaf pans so that I could freeze part of the recipe. They turned out great!!!! Thanks for such an easy and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very good and easy cake..thanks t's mom! I cut the oil to 1/2 cup, and the cake was still very moist and light. Also, I just happened to find white chocolate pudding mix at the grocer, and tried that...it was delish! Hard to believe this is not a total "from scratch" cake...I'll never tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
We found this way, way too rich for our tastes. Don't think we'd try this one again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States