Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Over the years of passing this cake off as a scratch cake, I have found that using a 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil works great -- fewer calories and still very moist. You can also use egg beaters and the low-fat or sugar-free versions of sour cream and pudding to decrease the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I make this cake using Devil's food cake mix(Duncan Hines), devil's food instant pudding(3.9 oz), 1 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup water and oil, no sugar, and Pam and cocoa not flour for the bundt pan. I don't dust the cake. VERY rich, but my friends are adicts. I'm very popular around Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is very good, however, mine is just as good and even easier to make. See Chocolate Chip Pound Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Amazing recipe..made it several times and I always have to pass on the recipe. I use Devil's Chocolate cake mix instead of yellow. Probably the easiest cake I have ever made, moist and perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
amazing tastes and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this cake for xmas and it was wonderful and so moist and I didnt add the chocolate chips because I used them in my double boiler and added butter and powder sugar and melted all of tat and poured it on top of the cake! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cullowheegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this cake last night and it is so yummy! Very moist! This will become one of my go to recipes! The only change I made was that I did not have a box of yellow cake mix and instead I used a Devils Food box mix! Which is probably how I will make it from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, only difference was that I used mini chocolate chips. I never got to taste this cake as I gave it as a hostess gift, but I was told it was excellent. It was certainly very easy to make, and smelt delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Really good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
LOVE this cake - just wish it didn't use a cake mix as I generally cook from scratch. I like to bake this in mini bundt pans (1/2 cup batter per pan, bake on cookie sheet for 30 minutes). I serve the cake warm with the following chocolate sauce on top: 8 oz Ghiradelli semisweet chocolate squares, 1 cup cream, 1/2 cup sugar. Chop chocolate evenly. In saucepan, heat 1/2 cup of the cream and all of the sugar until it starts to boil. Remove from heat. Add chocolate and stir until smooth. Add remaining 1/2 cup cream and again stir until smooth and cream is incorporated. While warm, pour over warm cake. Can reheat "leftovers" later for another cake. Serve over cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. YUMMY! Taste VERY MUCH like Appleby's Triple Chocolate Meltdown. Also, this cake works great in 3-D CHARACTER CAKE PANS! Made an upright train cake for my son's birthday using this cake recipe, and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States