Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this for supper club Friday night. It went over very well. I used a paper towel to line my Bundt pan with vegetable shortening. I used pistachio pudding mix instead of chocolate. I only used 1/2 cup of canola oil (that's all I had on hand). I mixed the ingredient without the eggs, then added them one at a a time. Then folded in Ghirardelli chocolate chips. I baked for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is a seriously easy cake to make. Made as directed but didn't have milk chocolate chips, so I used what I had, semi-sweet. Can't imagine that much of a change in taste. I thought it was good, but not exceptional. Very moist, but, probably won't made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious and very moist! I omitted the sugar completely.....saw no reason what so ever to add extra sugar to a box mix. Used a sugar free/fat free chocolate pudding mix, low fat sour cream, 1c water and 1/3 canola oil, and kept it at 4 eggs. Made in a bundt pan and everyone really complimented on this easy dessert. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This cake is delicious even with a few mods. I did not add the 1/2 c. of white sugar. I increased the amount of water to 1c. and decreased the oil to 1/2 c. With these changes, the cake came out VERY moist and delicious!!! Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Just enjoying a piece warm and fresh from the oven...mmmm...can I give it 6 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this cake only with one change, i decreased the oil just a bit, more than half a cup but less than 3/4. The chocolate chips melted in with the cake but some were still solid. Either way the cake was great! I melted some milk chocolate chips (with a little evaporated milk) to drizzle over the top, as well as some peanut butter chips with a tablespoon of peanut butter mixed in for real peanut butter flavor. My husband and sister in law loved it! I will be making this cake again today with the lemon/blueberry change and a lemon glaze icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I don't really know where to start with this recipe. First, I used a lemon pudding mix and the dried blueberries as some people suggested but I followed the recipe exactly otherwise. The cake came out different from what I expected. It isn't a pound cake in the traditional sense. It is very oily and doesn't seem as sturdy as a pound cake. There is so much oil that quite a bit remains on the plate. It also caused the cake to stick to the plate in a gooey, unappetizing way. It was definitely finished baking, just far too oily. I plan on putting some frosting on this cake and keeping it in the refrigerator. Perhaps chilling it will help it firm up a bit. It isn't an inedible cake especially if you don't bake from scratch very often but it does retain that weird "manufactured" quality that cake mixes often have. I'm giving it 4 stars because I should have known what to expect from a cake mix. Minus 1 star for being overly oily and another for calling itself a pound cake when it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Moist and nice, though the outer edge was a lighter, more "baked" looking color than the darker inside. I used Chocolate Fudge instant pudding, for a rich and amazingly chocolate-y flavor, and semisweet chocolate chips. The guests I had over loved it, and declared it amazing, so I'm happy with it! Baked at about the right time, according to the instructions. Next time I'll try fat-free sour cream and another type of pudding. Delicious though, and perfect for people who like chocolate a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this has got to be the best chocolate cake I have eaten, and also the easiest to make. I make this cake at least 1 time a week for my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is so good, it doesn't even need a glaze!! I normally use a yellow cake mix with a box of vanilla pudding instead of the chocolate. It is incredibly moist and gets better every day (if it lasts that long). I mix some of the chocolate chips into the batter, then sprinkle a few on top before sticking it in the oven. Otherwise the chocolate chips tend to all congregate at the bottom of the pan. GREAT recipe! This one is a keeper, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States