Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this yesterday. I did add a little less sugar, maybe more like 1/3 cup, and I only had semi-sweet morsels on hand, but otherwise, I followed the recipe. Then I topped it with the satiny chocolate glaze, as suggested by another reviewer. We quite enjoyed this and it was very simple and pretty. One reviewer said this cake was too sweet, one said too moist...I didn't think either of those applied, so maybe its a question of preference. I checked mine at 50 minutes and decided it needed a little more time. 55 minutes seemed to be just right. I would make this again and serve it proudly! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very Yummy. Everyone loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I think that the problems most people are having with this recipe is the cook temp and time. I've never baked a cake at 325, so I upped the temp to 350 and baked for 55 minutes and it turned out perfectly! I also increased the amount of chocolate chips to 1 cup and used vanilla instant pudding. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Moist and yummy. Cut oil to 1/2 cup (used coconut oil), used mini choc chips in batter and vanilla pudding, topped cooled cake with a chocolate icing and sprinkled more mini choc chips on top. The choc chips did sink in my batter. If I could remedy this problem, then I would actually prefer double the mini chips in the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
OMG, This was so good! It was so creamy, and SO moist!'It just melted in my mouth I will DEFINITELY be making this cake again! I am so glad I found this recipe because my whole family FULLY ENJOYED IT! This cake was top notch! I loved how it was creamy and soft inside then had a rich taste at the top! YUMMY! I will definitely be recommending this recipe to my friends and to others, this recipe needs to be heard, IT ROCKS! I wish there was a whole ten stars U could vote because this sure deserves 10 stars! There was a kinds of goodness in every piece!! The person who made this recipe should definitely make more recipes because this one made the best cale I have ever eaten! Thank you so much! It was deliteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I am not a big sweets eater, nor am I much of a baker, but we really liked this. I did reduce the sugar to about 1/4 cup, and the oil to about 1/3 cup, and we really liked the outcome. Not TOO sweet, but a great flavor and nice and moist. I also read in the reviews to add a couple of Tbsp flour to the cake mix since the box mixes are a little smaller these days. I've made it twice and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I am not one to bake cakes with cake mix but this recipe I couldn't resist. My DH wanted something sweet and I needed to use up some cake mixes that I had up in the cupboard (I always keep one or two on hand in case to make cup cakes etc) Anyway I also had some choc chips and the other ingredients on hand so I decided to make this cake. Boy I am glad I did... the cake came out perfect. The only thing I did different was to use 1/2 cup applesauce with 1/4 cup canola oil instead of 3/4 veg oil and added some vanilla extract and did not add the sugar. I thought between the cake mix and choc instant pudding mix there would be plently of sugar.... I was right... I also had some milk choc frosting in can on hand so I frosted part of the cake with this while it was still warm... so it kinda looked like a glaze. This cake is a keeper.... it is delicious and so moist... and really good the next day too... doesn't even taste like a mix cake.... also I used store brand (shoprite) yellow cake mix and store brand choc instant pudding(walmart). and the cake is plenty sweet!I also baked this in a bundt pan. Thanx Prissycat for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Due to the downsizing in cake mix sizes, all cake mixes now come in smaller boxes. In any recipes calling for an 18.25 oz cake mix (the "old size") just add enough flour to bring the cake mix up to 18.25 oz. For example, in this recipe,I had to add 2 oz of flour to the cake mix to bring it up to 18.25 oz as the recipe calls for. Otherwise, I made this exactly as the recipe stated, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is one of my family's FAVORITE cakes! Awesome and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good, but it needs a full cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States