Easy Chocolate Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I just made these. I had made a homemade trail mix because I dislike raisins (they always have raisins). My trail mix had way too much butterscotch chips. I made these. I started by picking out the butterscotch chips and finally scooped 2 cups of the trail mix (nuts, granola and different morsels) into the batter. It was a bit dry so I added a splash of milk. Turned out great but still too much butterscotch. I think I will use up my homemade trail mix by using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
After reading other reviews..I subbed the oil for applesauce and used only 1 cup of chips! Very Good and Easy!!! and mine are "Lowfat" now! I always sub applesauce for oil in baking whenever possible! It's a old WW secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I needed something sweet, something quick with minimal cleanup, and something reasonably delicious for the effort. Knowing this would be for children who would just enjoy rather than scrutinize, this was just what I was after. Still, this begins with a cake mix which I always try to camouflage to hide the telltale cake mix taste. In this case I added a teaspoon each of vanilla and chocolate extract. I’m not a butterscotch chip fan (too sweet in my opinion, and not the most tasty either), so I substituted Nestle’s milk chocolate and peanut butter swirl chips – and only HALF the amount called for, which was plenty. I’ve made similar cake mix cookies before, but with butter rather than oil, so of course I was curious to compare the difference. I must confess that after I mixed these up I was a little turned off by the greasy look of the dough. Once baked, however, they were just fine. In fact, they baked up real pretty, with minimal spreading. They are sort of crispy on the outside, but bite into them and it’s almost like a soft, fudgy brownie. Not bad! I think it’s safe to say the kids I baked these for will scarf them up appreciatively – and so will their parents…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are really good. I think they taste better when you use a stick of softened butter instead of the oil. I use red velvet cake, white chips, and mint extract for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
AWESOME! My nephews say this is their fav of all the cookies I have made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I agree with those who said the dough was greasy and unappetizing. I also felt there were too many chips. I'm going to try this again but with less chips and applesauce instead of oil (maybe a little butter). I also think a splash of some kind of complementary liqueur (such as Amaretto or Kahlua) would add a nice dimension to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanSimeonGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Excellent!! YUMMMM!! As per some of the other reviews, I did use a little less than 1/2 cup oil. Also, 2 cups chips is a bit much. Otherwise, DELICIOUS!! This recipe is definately a keeper! Super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yummy cookies. Used 1/3 cup of oil. Used milk chocolate cake mix. Used 1/4 cup Ground up Hershy's milk chocolate with toffee and almond nuggets & 1/4 cup of white chocolate chips. I'm not big on sweets, and these were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
good, but way too many chips for the recipe. could hardly form the cookie dough balls b/c of all those extra chips! anyway, quick and easy and a nice flexible recipe, but nothing extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States