Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was delicious! I used a little more banana and also added 1tbsp of powdered peanut butter to the recipe. I made cupcakes and baked the full size 18min and mini 15. They turned out amazing without anything at all on them but I made peanut butter frosting for them and they were even more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a good easy moist cake, but it has little to no banana taste. I followed the directions for the most part, except I did sub plain greek yogurt for the sour cream because I had it on hand and I used two ripe bananas based on the reviews that said it was lacking much banana taste. It has a really good chocolate flavor and stays moist for days which is a plus. I'd make it again but not with the expectation of a strong banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colbert, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I've made this twice -- the first time as directed. It was good, but not great. The second time I made it I did not have 8 oz. of sour cream. I used 4 oz. sour cream and 4 oz. cream cheese, mixed with a little extra milk. Most important, I frosted it with a simple white butter cream frosting. I think the frosting made the difference -- really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this for my daughters' birthday party. It was a huge hit and very moist. I used devils food cake and omitted the cocoa. Low fat sour cream worked well too. I used two bananas. Make sure the bananas are super ripe, brown and disgusting works the best! I made a whipped cream with cream cheese frosting recipe because I needed to decorate the cake. It turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Reba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am definitely using this for my daughters "Monkey" birthday. I used the devils food chocolate cake mix and 3 bananas. One in that much chocolate would have been lost. If you are not tasting banana at all, your bananas are too ripe. The blacker the better in baking. I keep my rotted bananas in the freezer for just such an occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Like others, I decided to just start with a chocolate cake mix. I also subbed applesauce for 1/2 of the oil and skipped the chocolate chips. Used 2 bananas and made into cupcakes that I frosted with the banana cream frosting from this site. The cake was okay by itself - the frosting made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i made this for mothers day and there wasnt a slice left. my family loved it and thats saying a lot since they r cooks at their own restuarant. it was recommended as a must at our next holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is yummy. I used a german cho. cake and omitted the cocoa. Used mini semi sweet chips. I did add a little frosting though ~ I melted 4 oz of german's sweet chocholate with 1/3 cup cream, added 2 T. butter and 1/2 tsp vanilla, beat it by hand and poured it over a yet warm cake. It has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I took someone's earlier advice and created the cake mix myself. I also added 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut flakes. I also added two bananas instead of just one because it seemed like it needed more moisture. It was fantastic and a big hit at lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is fantastic! After reading other reviews I decided to make a few changes and used Devil's Food cake mix and 3 and a half bananas to bring out that real banana flavour. I had to almost double the baking time, but when it was done it turned out dense, moist, and so delicious! I made this as a birthday cake for a family of chefs who said that this was their favourite cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States