Easy Chinese Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I've made this soup several times. I fell in love with this type of soup (both corn and egg) when I was a child, but now that I'm grown it seems like all I can find when we go out is plain egg drop soup (no corn). I add a little bit of ginger from a tube. I don't normally like ginger, but I think a little makes a big difference. If I'm fighting a cold, I'll add more ginger. :-) Sometimes I'll add a wee bit of reduced sodium soy sauce, or a little hon dashi, depending on my mood. Thanks for the recipe -- we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good! I used chicken bullion cubes for the broth and added two eggs instead of one. I think one would have been enough; but two is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I am surprised about how good this soup is with such basic ingredients. I, too, added some sesame oil and rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
PERFECT!!! Wouldn't change a word of this recipe! I garnished with green onion and mmmmmmmmmmm....SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We always ate this growing up, but my mom made it with 1 can creamed corn, 1 can kernel corn drained, 1/2 can water, ham and a two eggs. This got me through college! Thanks mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Like another reviewer here, I also grew up in Hong Kong and this IS indeed the authentic taste of this soup. We've had too many watered down versions of this in so many American Chinese restaurants that we often forget how it is supposed to taste. For a truly authentic touch I added a can of white crab meat and the end product not only looks pretty (with tiny yellow threads of egg and white threads of crab meat) but also has a gourmet feel. I tried a version without the chicken stock (used a can of water instead) and found that in fact the stock did't add much to the taste, except the saltiness. (And, I thought it was pretty salty already even with low sodium chicken stock.) So, to be health-conscious, I prefer to use a can of water plus 1/8 teasp of salt. (Check the ingredients: often there is salt in the canned cream-style corn already.) Thanks for a great, easy recipe. I hope everyone enjoys it!! P.S. I've also discovered that the BRAND of your cream style corn matters quite a bit. In the beginning I was always using a generic brand (Roundy's from Rainbow Foods) and the soup is fantastic -- creamy even before you add the cornstarch. But this time I've switched to Green Giant, and the end product is obviously watery. I guess it has to do with how much the corn gets meshed. So I guess you have to explore different brands a little bit! Maybe this is the reason why some reviewers didn't get satisfactory results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I changed this recipe a bit based on some other reviews. I added an extra can of chicken broth, an 11 oz can of corn (if you like it really corny), one tsp of sesame oil and three tsp of rice wine vinegar. Since the volume was increased, I needed more corn starch and water, too. I also garnished it with sliced green onions. It was awesome! Remember though, not much sesame oil - a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
The final result was not what I was anticipating: It was sweeter and thicker (like a chowder) than 'suburban' restaurants typically serve. It is bland, but still flavourful in its simplicity. Sometimes I add a bit of sesame seed oil or rice vinegar. Sometimes top with leftover meat, thinly sliced green onions and/or crispy won ton (chips) It's an inexpensive, quick & EZ soup which is fun to experiment with (ingredients) depending upon what type of flavour we're wanting ;^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Love this soup in restaurants...never knew it was so easy to make at home! I also added a spash of sesame oil and soy sauce to up the flavour. Absolutely delicious=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really liked that this recipe was so quick and simple. I love spicy food, so I added 1 tsp of chili sauce and garnished with thinly sliced green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States