Easy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was my first time using TVP. It was great! This is a slightly sweet chili recipe, not very spicy at all. I used a can of black beans instead of one of the cans of chili beans, because that's what I had. I added cumin because I like that in chili. I also added a half a can of tomato paste because I had it left over and thought this would be a good way to get rid of it. I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I like to flavor my TVP, we also like to add various pepper powders and cilantro of course. I also use chili tomatoes, not stewed and usually add much more cumin and chili powder to taste and throw in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
There was no flavor at the end after following recipe to the T. Except I used ground beef which should make it better. It tasted like campbells bean and bacon soup... didnt' taste like chili at all, it was soupy, I even excluded the 1 cup of water as reviewers said and still consistency of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wow! This is good! I made some changes though: took the advice of some other reviewers and added a cup less water. I also used kidney beans as I couldn't find chili beans. I added a little white wine as someone else suggested. I added a bit more chili powder and a little cumin. I used turbinado sugar instead of brown sugar. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Thanks for the recipe. I have faith in my ability to cook with TVP now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe was a great jumping off point for chili to feed a hungry potluck croud. I omited the celery (seeing as I didn't have any on hand). Due to another review, I cut down on the water by one cup. Then, when I doubled the recipe - I didn't have enough chili beans, so I substituted some kidney beans (drained) instead. I wanted my chili meaty, so I substituted about a pound and a half of browned ground beef for the second cup of TVP. The result was delicious. I am sure that it would be equally tasty made accoring to the recipe - but I would hold off on part of the water, and see how thick you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I halved the recipe, adding about a teaspoon of minced garlic, substituting one can of kidney beans for a can of chili beans, and adding about a cup of TVP, dry. My roommates and family absolutely loved it! I think it's my favorite chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I was expecting this to be a thicker chili, not so watery. My husband LOVED it and calls it bean soup rather than chili. The next time I make it I might try a little less liquid. I also used it without the textured protein because I couldn't find it in the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Excellent Recipe, here are my modifications: - used Veg Ground Round instead of text veg protein - added a little white wine and only 2 cups of water, not 4 - 2 cans of kidney beans used - 2 cloves of garlic only. I put everything in a crockpot (sauteed garlic, onions & celery first) and left it on low all day until supper. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
It's the best Chili I have ever had and if you kind of makeup and add your own things as you go along it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States