Easy Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Fixed it very close to described, but added a large fresh minced (seeded) jalapeño pepper for a little extra 'oomph.' Also parboiled the (small quartered gold) potatoes. Also used light coconut milk. It was mild but delicious, served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I followed it pretty closely, only omitting the garam masala (didn't have it). I also used about 2/3 of a cup of ground almonds instead of only 1/4 cup, which I think thickened up my sauce a bit more. Also, like other reviewers, I simmered it about 40 minutes total so that my potatoes would be nice and tender. We ate this over simple white rice and everyone loved it. My sister and dad added sauteed shrimp to theirs but it was just as tasty without. This was so flavorful and satisfying, exactly what I was looking for when I looked up curry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Love this dish! Only changes were to add fresh diced granny smith apples 10min before serving...and on occasion adding some coconut milk powder for the days you feel like an extra dash of coconut flavour! I will make this recipe again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was amazing! I omitted the milk, used plain yogurt as I didn't have sour cream, and used organic coconut milk and chickpeas. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it really turned out better than I thought! I have made many before and by far, this had the best flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was my first attempt at Indian. The first time I made this, I omitted the last four ingredients. It was such a hit in my house, I made it a second time, using all ingredients. The last four ingredients do add a bit more something to the dish, but it is great with or without them. Even my one year old loves it! It's our new standby Indian recipe in the house. *Tip: Farm & Fleet carries ground almonds on the cheap.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Absolutely adored this curry!! Like many others, though, I left out the milk, sour cream, bouillon, sugar, and almonds, and I decided to use tomato paste instead of ketchup. I also used 4 small golden potatoes instead of russet. Not sure how some people got flavorless curry from this recipe, mine was VERY flavorful&spicy, I actually will cut down on the garam masala a bit next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is such a disappointing recipe given all the ingredients. I felt like it had little flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!! Did not need the almond flour and added a handful of frozen peas at the very end. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I adjusted the spices for our tastes, used chopped fresh cauliflower instead of potatoes, left out the milk, sour cream and almonds. Served with naan bread. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I thought this was excellent. I had to leave out the garam masala and still thought it was great. I added finely chopped cauliflower instead of potatoes to keep it low carb and used canned tomatoes. Very easy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States