Easy Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Delicous. I used chicken I cooked in garlic, sea salt and paprkia, as I am allergic to gluten and don't use many canned foods. I also added about a tablespoon of sour cream to help bind them a bit better. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
When I first started rolling the tortillas they cracked...so I used a spray bottle and misted each tortilla with water before warming them in the pan, and they rolled up great. Definitely going to experiment with different ingredients in the future to perfect the taste, but they were great even without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Used 1 and a half chicken breasts instead of the can of chicken and couldn't help but season it with just a little bit of Taco Seasoning I from this site. I used the yellow corn tortillas, but then decided that I should have used white, because the yellow ones cracked really easily, even when warm. To combat the cracking, I used more filling than called for, and only got eight bigger taquitos. Quick, easy, cheap...Overall a 5 star dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
YUM! In addition to the canned chicken and cheese, I added a can of diced green chiles and some taco seasoning. I also used flour tortillas instead of the corn. After they were rolled up, I sprayed them with Pam and then sprinkled more taco seasoning on the taquitos. The best part was that I actually made these the day before my party, then the night of the party, just popped them in the oven on low for a while and they were warmed perfectly and still nice and crisp. I served with salsa and sour cream, but they were wonderful on their own. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
These were great. (: They made an awesome lunch for my brother and I. I added sour cream, cumin, and garlic powder, and added a little more cheese as well. I didn't have canned chicken, but leftover rotisserie worked well. I brushed the tops of each taquito with margarine before baking, and the results were delicious. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalalaLauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Super easy. I followed the recipe exactly the first time but found them to be a bit bland. The second time I added a teaspoon of taco seasoning, used flour tortillas and added a bit of sour cream (as suggested by other reviewers). Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These are good, and much healthier than my usual fried version. I did think they needed a kick, more seasoning on the chicken. But they're sure quick and easy to assemble, great for a last-minute weeknight meal. All in all, a nice base recipe, easily tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This seems like a great way to use up Mexican leftover meat. If you have some pollo asada, carne asada, carnitas, or even just ground taco meat you can give it a second life as taquitos! They also freeze great too if you want to make an extra big batch and store them in your freezer for a quick dinner--just reheat and eat. I used some leftover carnitas sauted with onions until it was hot and crispy. I quickly fried each tortilla in a little oil so it'd by more pliable and not crack (this is a great trick for enchiliadas as well). When I rolled them I added a couple toothpicks to keep them from coming apart when I baked them. Served them with salsa verde, sour cream, and cabbage salad for a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I cooked 1 boneless skinless chicken breast in broth for about 10 min (until juices run clear) and then shredded it. I seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, cilantro garlic and onion powder. I at least doubled the amount of cheese. The key to the corn shells is only doing a couple at a time. Wrap between a damp paper towel and microwave for about 30 sec. I didn't have any problems with mine tearing. My corn shells were rather small, so I used an 8x8 pan and it worked great. I did bump up the temperature at the end to 400 for some extra crispness. Not as good as fried, but they were ok. I think next time i'll brush them with margarine and see if that helps combat the dryness of the corn shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
LADIES and GENTLEMAN>>>> The trick to rolling corn or flour tortillas successfully for taquitos or enchiladas is to put one tortilla between 2 sheets of damp paper towel and microwave for 30secs. I know it's tedious to do that to every one, but if you're quick you can roll one while another is microwaving. Redampen the papertowel as needed. Using this trick, you will never have trouble with cracking tortilla again, no matter how dry they were when you started. Hope this helps some of y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States