Easy Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Used canned chicken, green chilies and baked them. Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made these this past weekend! So good and like others, I used actual chicken (and shredded it) rather than a can (ewww).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
So easy... I decided to cook the chicken in a green enchilada sauce for added flavor. Very crispy without the frying. Nice weeknight dinner with slow cooker pinto beans and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, as I think that is the right thing to do, before you make any changes. It was easy, but I had to take it out at 20 minutes, as it was already too hard. It was good, but very bland tasting. I will make it again, but add more cheese, a little sour cream, and some spices. Unless you like very bland taste, and very crisp shells, do not follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These are good. I used a poached chicken breast, and added a few lentils and a generous tablespoon of sour cream to the mixture. I nuked the tortillas two at a time for 15 seconds, covered with wet paper toweling above and below the torillas. I sprayed the taquitos with Pam once rolled. The first few cracked, but once I got the hang of rolling them it went well. The tortillas were a little dry; next time I'll brush with oil as several other reviewers suggested. These could easily be made with lentils for a vegetarian snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used leftover chicken from cooked chicken breasts, or you could use rotiserrie chicken.....that would give it much more flavor than the canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
First of all, these were quite tasty and yes, very easy. The issue I have with this recipe is using canned chicken. The other issue is the lack of proper seasoning. To keep this easy, I picked up a just cooked rotisserie chicken at the market, then shred the chicken by hand. For seasoning, I used a packet of taco seasoning, about a half cup of hot salsa and a tablespoon of cream cheese (I promise, super yummy combination). I used Mission corn tortillas, which are very soft and flexible so rolling these was easy without having to warm them first. The biggest issue I had was only one side of the taquito gets somewhat crispy so they needed to be flipped then put back in the oven. Also, the tortillas kind of cracked a little which may be the brand I used? Regardless, they did taste pretty great and hubby liked them too. These would be a fun "pot luck" kind of meal to bring to work or other party like events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
As is, this is bland but it has great potential. I agree with adding chiles, sour cream and spices: cumin, chili powder, garlic, salt, and onion powder (or diced onions). My kids don't like them crispy so I didn't bake them longer than 20 minutes. Don't overfill them and make sure to roll them tightly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
trying it out know. using leftover drunkin chicken, adding cilantro fresh to the mix in refriedbeans yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Huey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great recipe! I also tweaked it with salsa and seaonings-try different ways each time I make them.Hit with my hubby for game watching days and quick meals. These are absolutely perfect for after school snack. I watch teen boys-these are a hit. I make the filling the day before. Before time of school let-out, I dampen the tortillas. then start the process and bake so they come out just as they walk through the door. Served with assorted sauces for dipping. I use frozen chicken poached in broth and shredded most times. Also leftover rotissorie chicken. Turkey and beef(even ground beef/turkey work well). Saw a tip on the internet of shredding chicken with a mixer..who knew, works fine! One thing I need to say in defense of the "canned" chicken for those knocking it. I agree with the store type of canned chicken. Though I do use it in a pinch. However, there are many who home can(jars) their own foods. Which I have started doing. Until a few months ago (I am 62) I was not aware that one could can meats. This type of canning keeps foods delicious!!! No comparison to those little store cans. Check through all the reviews to gather ingredient ideas..they are great. Regarding this recipe,since I've used it many times....It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States