Easy Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
i just made my own version of these for a snack. i used a 5oz can of chicken, a couple teaspoons of taco sauce that was left over from recent tacos, fiesta blend cheese and whole wheat tortillas. mixed the filling together, rolled and microwaved for about 2 minutes. dipped in light sour cream. i thought it made a great snack and fairly low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Roley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These are good, and much healthier than my usual fried version. I did think they needed a kick, more seasoning on the chicken. But they're sure quick and easy to assemble, great for a last-minute weeknight meal. All in all, a nice base recipe, easily tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I didn't use canned chicken. I put thin sliced chicken breasts in the crock pot with a sante fe marinade and rice. By the time I was ready to make dinner, the chicken fell apart and had a sweet spicy flavor. Added some cheese and then put in corn tortillas. I had sour cream and cheese sauce to dip them in and rolled a leaf of romaine lettuce around each while eating. The family loved them, even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This seems like a great way to use up Mexican leftover meat. If you have some pollo asada, carne asada, carnitas, or even just ground taco meat you can give it a second life as taquitos! They also freeze great too if you want to make an extra big batch and store them in your freezer for a quick dinner--just reheat and eat. I used some leftover carnitas sauted with onions until it was hot and crispy. I quickly fried each tortilla in a little oil so it'd by more pliable and not crack (this is a great trick for enchiliadas as well). When I rolled them I added a couple toothpicks to keep them from coming apart when I baked them. Served them with salsa verde, sour cream, and cabbage salad for a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Tasty, but the tortillas were chewy in some sections and crispy in others. The filling was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Has potential with some changes. Chicken needs seasoning and fresh peppers. you need to up the cheese and filling amount. Also the canned chicken makes it taste a little strange I recomend using rotisery/ boiled and pulsing it in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
So easy and a great way to use leftover flour tortillas or shredded cheese. I had both along with a can of chicken that I had no idea what I was going to do with! To the chicken I added fat free sour cream, shredded cheese, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, salt, pepper and a couple shakes of fiesta party dip mix from tastefully simple. At the last minute I added a couple of teaspoons of salsa. I heated the tortillas in the microwave (5 med size). Added the filling then rolled them and placed on a baking sheet coated w/spray. A little "smart balance" spread on top of each one then bake....delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is great! I add chili sauce to the bowl of chicken until its a light reddish, gives good spicyness. Then I eat with avocadoes, tomatoes, and sour cream added afterwards. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were super easy to make and really, really good! I also used taco seasoning in the chicken mixture and to hold it together I mixed in a little sour cream. I took others advice and after warming the tortillas, put them in a damp paper towel. I sprayed the tops with Pam prior to baking. these were so good, they don't reheat very well though. I could only find white corn tortillas in the correct size, the yellow ones were huge! I think next time I will use the yellow corn tortillas and just cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Just okay. In dire need of flavor. My 6 year old son even said he didn't like them, and I gave him cheese dip to dunk them in! I kept it simple, just canned chicken, cheese, hot sauce, and a little onion like the poster mentioned. I'd add cumin and chili powder at the very least. Brush the top of the taquitos with oil before baking as well, to give the tortillas a little oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States