Easy Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used leftover chicken from cooked chicken breasts, or you could use rotiserrie chicken.....that would give it much more flavor than the canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
First of all, these were quite tasty and yes, very easy. The issue I have with this recipe is using canned chicken. The other issue is the lack of proper seasoning. To keep this easy, I picked up a just cooked rotisserie chicken at the market, then shred the chicken by hand. For seasoning, I used a packet of taco seasoning, about a half cup of hot salsa and a tablespoon of cream cheese (I promise, super yummy combination). I used Mission corn tortillas, which are very soft and flexible so rolling these was easy without having to warm them first. The biggest issue I had was only one side of the taquito gets somewhat crispy so they needed to be flipped then put back in the oven. Also, the tortillas kind of cracked a little which may be the brand I used? Regardless, they did taste pretty great and hubby liked them too. These would be a fun "pot luck" kind of meal to bring to work or other party like events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
As is, this is bland but it has great potential. I agree with adding chiles, sour cream and spices: cumin, chili powder, garlic, salt, and onion powder (or diced onions). My kids don't like them crispy so I didn't bake them longer than 20 minutes. Don't overfill them and make sure to roll them tightly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
trying it out know. using leftover drunkin chicken, adding cilantro fresh to the mix in refriedbeans yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Huey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great recipe! I also tweaked it with salsa and seaonings-try different ways each time I make them.Hit with my hubby for game watching days and quick meals. These are absolutely perfect for after school snack. I watch teen boys-these are a hit. I make the filling the day before. Before time of school let-out, I dampen the tortillas. then start the process and bake so they come out just as they walk through the door. Served with assorted sauces for dipping. I use frozen chicken poached in broth and shredded most times. Also leftover rotissorie chicken. Turkey and beef(even ground beef/turkey work well). Saw a tip on the internet of shredding chicken with a mixer..who knew, works fine! One thing I need to say in defense of the "canned" chicken for those knocking it. I agree with the store type of canned chicken. Though I do use it in a pinch. However, there are many who home can(jars) their own foods. Which I have started doing. Until a few months ago (I am 62) I was not aware that one could can meats. This type of canning keeps foods delicious!!! No comparison to those little store cans. Check through all the reviews to gather ingredient ideas..they are great. Regarding this recipe,since I've used it many times....It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was incredibly easy, required very little time and ingredients and best of all tasted great! I already had leftover chicken breasts, so I just chopped those up and then I used taco sauce instead because that's what I had. Also used quite a bit more taco sauce than was recommended for tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
First off: I can my own chicken. I know what's in it. I know when I canned it. So don't knock canned chicken when you don't know what you're talking about. I hadn't tried baking taquitos before and I liked it. These were good; perfect for the grandkids I frequently feed. For the adults, I spiced it up and added diced green chilis (I canned those, too), some epazote, cilantro and garlic. In addition to sour cream and salsa (yep, canned that, too!), I served an onion salsa made from one diced white onion, 1 T chopped cilantro and juice of a whole lemon. Pretty good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a keeper recipe. I substitute salsa for the hot sauce and after baking, add a warm cheese sauce. The amazing thing -it reheats in the microwave. Great for lunch or a snack later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I soften the tortillas by wrapping them in a paper towel and heating in microwave for 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yum!!I added green chilies and had nonstick pan on stove at very low heat. I put tortilla on it about 20 second each side and rolled. They don't cracked if you heat them before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States