Easy Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was just OK. It was easy to make, but I would still say this was too much work for the end result. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was bland and the texture lacked any interest (although, it is chicken and rice, eh?). I will admit my husband seemed to like it, but then, he prefers bland, boring food! If I had to really describe it, I would say it tastes like I added chicken to a packaged seasoned rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was good but make sure you season the chicken really good. I added an extra can of soup and mushrooms. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This past summer I was looking for a quick and easy chicken and rice casserole and found this one. I also read almost all of the reviews and took some of the posters variations to heart. The problem was that I didn’t have the ingredients on hand so I went to my pantry and started experimenting. What I ended up with is the following then over the past several months I’ve made several variations to this dish that I list after the main recipe … of course I’m only mentioning the variations that I thought were successful … 1 package of Lipton Rice side dishes 2 cups of water. Mix in the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish. Place, boneless, skinless chicken breasts on top of the rice and water. Sprinkle frozen, chopped broccoli on top of the rice mixture and around the chicken breasts. Cover with foil and Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake another 15 minutes or until the chicken has a bit of color to it. Make sure the rice doesn’t dry out. Variations: Add 1 cup of sour cream and/or 1 cup of chopped cashews to the rice mixture before placing the chicken breasts on top. After removing the foil, add a dollop of cranberry sauce to the top of each of the chicken breasts. Hope you all enjoy this easy casserole as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I agree with other reviwers that it's nice to mix up the cream soups. Also, add a bit more seasoning! Mix it up with fresh or canned mushrooms or even sneak it chopped up brocolli for extra nutrients and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a very basic recipe. My son, who doesn't like anything fancy, LOVED this. I added a little extra season salt and a sprinkle of onion powder. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is the easiest to make recipe and it tastes so rich! A variation I use is to add a teaspoon of paprika plus a tablespoon of lemon juice with the soup mixture plus 1/4 tsp of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I've made this recipe many, many times and I've learned to modify it to my taste using: 1. 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can cream of mushroom soup instead of 2 cans cream of chicken, 2. I sprinkle all chicken breasts with paprika, salt and pepper on both sides before I lay them in the pan. 3. After sprinkling with spices in #2, I lay the uncooked chiken in pyrex dish, add soup, milk and cook.(no rice). I cook my rice separately, put my rice in a dish and spoon the mixture over the rice. A sprinkle of freshly ground pepper on top and YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I used 2 cans cream of chicken soup, 1 can cream of celery soup, and an extra 1/2 cup of milk. Also, I added frozen broccoli and fresh carrot pieces. The 90 plus 15 minute cook time worked great, and it came out nice and moist. As some of other viewers suggested, I did add a pack of onion soup mix. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is a classic, in my opinion, and can easily be added to or kicked up a notch. It is a super recipe to have on your go-to list. We call this Sunday chicken, because it's great to stick in the oven before church - hot and ready to eat when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I changed the recipe a bit b/c of the reviews. I used 2 cups chicken broth PLUS 1 extra cup of milk. I did this because I was using Long Grain Rice. Using this rice made the cook time to almost 2 hours! Wouldn't do that again. I added 3 cups frozen brocolli spears, 1 package dry onion soup mix and topped with crackermeal crumbs. The rice was very tasty, especially with the brocolli but the chicken was too plain. Everyone loved the rice but found the chicken boring. This is a great recipe to sneak in ground flax seed. Cannot taste any difference but gives you the added Omega & Fiber benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States