Easy Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My family said that it was just ok, they thought the chicken was too dry. The rice had good flavor though and they liked that. I didn't change anything with the recipe, oh I did add a bit more seasoning salt but that is it. Not sure why it came out so dry?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele Grigsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made the recipe as written basically and I agree it's too dry. HOWEVER, I thought the taste was Great and you certainly can't beat the ease of preparation! I added a few of the spices I like per other's suggestions. Next time I will add probably antoher cup of milk or water and a few cloves of minced fresh garlic - and go from there on any more adjustments. Except for adding some moisture, great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I knew this was going to be on the bland side before I even made it but I thought I could spruce it up with some broccoli & minced garlic. It came out "alright" but nothing I would make again exactly like this. The broccoli helps a lot! I added milk to it every 20 minutes and it was still on the dry side. It's easy just like the recipe says but it's nothing I will make again. We're going to have leftovers for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I browned my chicken first with onion and garlic salt to give it flavor. I used 2 cups of rice and milk to 2 chicken breasts. It only needed 1 hour to bake on 375. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I was really impressed by this recipe but mostly because my picker then most 6 year old raved over it and devoured his entire bowl in no time flat. i didn't water chestnuts so I subbed frozen mixed veggies. I didn't read the recipe closely and cooked the rice first and added cheese at the end. Like I said AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
My whole family really enjoyed this. My picky 15 year old even went back for seconds. I made this with brown rice and was worried that it wouldn't get done, so I allowed 90 minutes cook time. There was plenty of liquid and the rice was done perfectly and so was the chicken. I loved the idea of cutting up the chicken before putting it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My family and I thought this was a very good recipe - great taste, easy to prepare, and all-in-one. There were no leftovers. The chicken I used had already been marinating in Italian salad dressing - great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
As is, this recipe is bland. I jazzed it up with lipton onion soup mix, sauteed mushrooms, and onions. I added 1cream of mushroom, and 1 cream of chicken. I added shredded cheddar during the last 15 minutes while uncovered. It was pretty good. Easy to make one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was ok. I only used 2 large chicken breast which was pleanty enough meat. I used 1 can of cream of celery soup, 1 can of chicken soup, I also added other spices like others suggested, pepper, onion powder. I cooked for 60 min like other suggested and it seemed like the rice wasnt done enough and it also need more liquid so I added about another 1/2 c. of milk and cooked for another 10 min. My kids liked it, it was something easy and not bad just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
As written, the recipe would be fairly bland, so I took the advice of some others and added a pkt of onion soup mix and at the end of the baking time, added shredded Monterey Jack cheese. Yummy! I also chunked up the chicken so I only baked it for about 60 minutes at 350 degrees. Then I bumped the oven temp down to warm to melt the cheese and hold it until my family could gather to eat. So easy to make and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States