Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is an old traditional meal that is so easy to make but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was a good recipe that made tons of leftovers. I ended up using dry hominy and could've cooked it a little longer but it was perfect on day two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is outstanding. Ive tried it with red chile powder and green. Go green baby(hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was great! Tastes just like the homemade Pozole my Mexican friends make! I cubed and browned 2lbs of chicken. Then in large pot browned 1 large onion and 3 cloves of garlic - added chicken, water, chicken broth, 2 Tbsp chile powder, dash of salt, and oregano and left it cook for about 80 min. Then added hominy and cilantro. Served with lime, radishes, tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Ever since I came back from Acapulco, I have been looking for an easy, basic pozole recipe and I think this is it! I added an extra clove or two of garlic and added a couple extra dashes of salt. Other than that it was AWESOME! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for a church dinner - for 50 people and it was easy and fantastic. I baked the chicken breasts in the oven to save myself some work. And didn't add any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good recipe. Very flavorful but the chicken in mine was a little chewy. I cooked it as the recipe described and it also took me a little longer for the hominy to cook than 15 minutes. It was closer to 40 minutes. I will make it again. I like it better with chicken than other traditional meats used for posole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Yum yum yum yum yum! This was great. Instead of cooking the chicken I used a store bought roasted chicken and took the skin off. I didn't have enough but it still turned out fine. The only other modifications I did were to cut back to 1T of oil, use Mexican oregano instead of regular, and I only used about 3T of chili pepper because we don't like really spicy food. This amount was perfect for us. The broth tasted just like restaurant Posole...the only difference was the chicken instead of pork but that was just as good or even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have been looking for a long time for an easy posole recipe. This is it!! My husband is Mexican and when I go to his families house they use other kinds of meat and I didn't want to have to go through the hassle like they did. My husband came home from work and I served this with some radishes, lime, and little raw cabbage for toppings. He loved it!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This tasted amazing! I will definitely be making this again. I wanted it to be a very thick soup, so here's how I made it. Cut recipe to 5 servings. Used 1 large chicken breast and tossed diced onions into the pan while the chicken was finishing up. Added salt, pepper, garlic and kept the rest of the amounts the same. I diced the chicken, used 2 cans chicken broth, 1 can of drained and rinsed hominy, and 1 can of diced tomatoes with juice. Add 1 small can diced chiles, extra chili powder to taste, a few dashes cayenne, and a large pinch of cumin. Added only 1/2 cup of water total (at end), to thin the soup just a bit. Very yummy! Oh yes, I only simmered the soup for 20 minutes once it was put together. Couldn't wait and didn't need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States