Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good taste but VERY VERY SPICY! Next time I will need to use 1/4 the amount of chili powder. Other then that it was wonderful topped with sour cream, cheddar cheese, cubed avocado, onions and tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts (1 or 2 depending on size) and pretty much follow recipe as written except for the addition of 1/2 tsp cumin. The 2 tbsp of chili powder makes a spicy but not too spicy soup base. Will admit that I don't simmer this soup for the 90 minutes as suggested but throw in canned rinsed and drained white hominy after about 30 minutes, heat through and serve. It's a fun dish to serve with all the "DIY" ingredients -- tostadas, diced avocado, lime wedges, fresh cilantro. Mucho Gusto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
How wonderful it was to find a recipe much like the one my dad used each year! I had smoked turkey left over from Thanksgiving so I used that instead of chicken but it turned out fantastic!! Easy to make and freezes wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by USAFWifey86
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this the other day and it was good. It was lacking a little taste, so I added a can of enchilada sauce. WOW what a difference! My husband LOVED IT! I garnished it with onion, shredded cabbage and lime juice added a little hot sauce and it was almost as good as my mami's posole. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWifey86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
So simple, yet so flavorful and filling! I accidentally bought golden hominy, but the taste didn't seem to suffer, and I didn't use chili powder. Added lime juice and half a can of Mexican Rotel to the cooking broth, simmered as directed, and garnished our bowls with shredded lettuce, chopped cilantro, and lime. It was amazing! We're even thinking of making a huge batch and throwing a Posole Dinner Party for the start of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Really Good! The first time I made this recipe I cooked the chicken in a slow cooker, then shredded and transferred to stovetop for step 2. The only other thing I changed was to add one-half teaspoon each of Cumin and Cayenne Pepper because we like spicy. The next time I cooked the chicken as the recipe was written but I definitely prefer the chicken in the slow cooker, it was much more tender. I will make this recipe again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
this soup turned out great!even my picky wife ate it and loved it!just added a couple of tablespoons of cumin,will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brodie73
Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe, simple and delicious. I always use a pork roast or loin, cubed and browned for a richer flavor. I also toss in a couple whole dried chilies for some heat. Must be served with shredded cabbage, radish, a squeeze of lime and tostadas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I cooked the chicken in the crock pot and added it with the broth and spices. I only did 2.5TB of chili powder and 1 tsp of salt. It turned out great! I topped it with the tostadas, cilantro, limes, shredded cabbage, sliced radishes, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States