Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Tasty and easy to follow recipe. I served it with soft cooked corn tortillas instead of the tostada shells but I'm certain it would be great either way. There were 8 of us at the table, 6 years old to 39 years old and it was well received by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I boiled my 2 chicken breasts in chicken broth with a quarter onion and a clove of garlic. After it was done, I scooped out the onion and garlic. Shredded the chicken and put it back into the same broth. I cooked the chopped onion along with the 3 cloves of garlic in the oil until it was translucent. I then scooped it out of the skillet and put in the pot with the shredded chicken. I added the hominy at this point too. I added about 3 tablespoons of cayenne pepper and about 1 tablespoon of Chipotle pepper. I also added about 3 teaspoons of oregano. (TIP: Pour the oregano in one palm and with the other, rub it together to break it down even further and to make the flavor pop.) I didn't add any more salt because I felt it had enough flavor. I simmered it on the stove for about half an hour until the hominy was nice and soft. I love this easy recipe, even though I changed it a bit. I added more spices because my family loves their food super spicy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frida Loves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is the best recipe I've found. I have been looking for a nice simple recipe that still tastes great, it was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love this easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is SOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
GOOD! I did my own measurments. This would have made a lot. I added cilantro, 1 Cup enchilada sauce, and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEENER2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Bravo! Grilling rather than boiling the chicken adds so much flavor. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, and oregano prior to cooking. I also used extra garlic and a shallot, and omitted the extra salt (strongly recommend others do this too). It was incredibly tasty and yes, authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
didn't like the strong chili powder taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Really altered the recipe as to what I had on hand but don't think it changed the taste that much. Used leg quarters instead of breasts, didn't think the extra 3 cups of water was necessary and cut back chili powder to 3 T. Used freshly made golden hominy and home made broth. Just a touch of cumin and the flavor blew me away!!! Would have loved to have had the lime wedges and the cilantro...this is a truly authentic recipe!!! Made this for a friend who has just finished radiation for breast cancer and has lost her appetite...but she said she loved Posole and after tasting this recipe, ate a large portion. Thanks very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States