Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Bravo! Grilling rather than boiling the chicken adds so much flavor. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, and oregano prior to cooking. I also used extra garlic and a shallot, and omitted the extra salt (strongly recommend others do this too). It was incredibly tasty and yes, authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
didn't like the strong chili powder taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Really altered the recipe as to what I had on hand but don't think it changed the taste that much. Used leg quarters instead of breasts, didn't think the extra 3 cups of water was necessary and cut back chili powder to 3 T. Used freshly made golden hominy and home made broth. Just a touch of cumin and the flavor blew me away!!! Would have loved to have had the lime wedges and the cilantro...this is a truly authentic recipe!!! Made this for a friend who has just finished radiation for breast cancer and has lost her appetite...but she said she loved Posole and after tasting this recipe, ate a large portion. Thanks very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We loved this! My good friend who has been making posole forever suggested adding a can of enchilada sauce. I added the enchilada sauce and cut the chili powder to 2 tsp. I can't tell you how often we eat it. It is one of our favorite meals. Thank you deedee for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Thank you for this recipe, this was my first time making it and it came out great! I was soo worried for nothing, this was just too easy to make, I only just boiled and shredded chicken thigh meat instead of breast meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Photo by msjenipher1
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great Recipe! Only thing I must say is please use New Mexico chili powder, or California Chili powder. It really makes a HUGE difference. Also, if you don't feel like doing the chicken, buy a rotisserie chicken instead. I also topped mine with shredded cabbage instead of lettuce. I could eat this everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I give this 4 stars because improvement can be made to make it taste better and more authentic. But it is a simple and good starter recipe. I also messed up on the chicken by boiling it the night before to save time. It made it rubbery the next day. I will make again, but perhaps use rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Made just as recipe stated. The flavor is very good. For those who say it's too spicy or not enough, remember that not all chili powder packs the same heat nor has the same flavor profile. I didn't give this recipe 5 stars because my chicken turned out a bit chewy. However, my daughters had no complaints! Oh, and don't forgo the garnishes. They really do add something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Turned out amazing! The only thing I changed was that I boiled my chicken with some onions, lime, and cilantro to cook it instead of in a skillet. I find its easier to shred that way. I also added some garlic salt. Even my picky (read: impossible) eater fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenXya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very good stuff. I like the spice level. I thought chicken fried in a pan would be a hassle to shred, so I did it in the crock pot with the water and broth, cooked it on high maybe 2-3 hours. After that it almost shreds itself. Then I cooked the garlic w/just a bit of oil in my mini saucepan, and didn't use the onion. From there, everything was as is. Though I did only use the tortilla chips and cilantro for garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States