Easy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe except I do a few minor substitutions. I added the chicken broth (low sodium), I also substituted the onions with green onions. I'm on a strict low carb and low sodium diet. I also used brown rice instead. This was really good and I think I out did myself. My son even loved it...well try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Extra broth not necessary if you don't cook the onions all the way down before adding chicken and covering. If sauce isn't abundant after 45 minutes, just skip the 15 minute boil-down at the end. This recipe worked great for me. I'd salt the onions liberally upon sauté too; this helps them give their water to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Would have been a 1-star without the edits Common Allrecipes ! This recipe is proven wrong from the get-go just by reading it. With 1/3 cup oil as the only liquid there won't be any sauce to reduce. Chicken/vegetable broth, cup or more, would be a good start. And work up to the correct curry amount as it will vary by brand and blend. Mine consisted of 3-4 large chicken thighs, plus chopped broccoli added to the above with 4 tablespoons of curry and it was seriously spicy but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Great recipe except as stated, it is desperately in need of more liquid. I add a cup of chicken broth after adding the chicken and simmer for about a half hour and then I add a half cup of milk or cream to thicken the gravy up a little. If necessary, I add a pinch more curry after I stir in the cream or milk and then let it simmer for another 15 minutes or so. I also prefer to use thighs and legs rather than chicken breasts for a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I am in France and needed a quick recipe I could read in English. Since you get the whole chicken here, and I am in the south, I cooked the whole chicken on top of the stove, to remove the bone, and in a separate skillet followed this recipe with regard to the onions,olive oil, and curry. Then I used two ladels(2 cups?) of the fresh broth, and added some cream (1/2cup), and 1 tsp salt--it is excellent and less expensive than all those chicken breasts--probably will feed more. I will remove the chicken from the bone, and now add to this succulent sauce. This recipe was a start but the author forgot some mystery liquid--or perchance likes everything dry and to the side of rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I was pleasantly surprised at how well it turned out. I also added 2 cups of chicken broth before simmering. As for the curry powder, I recommend 1/4 cup. Of course, that is just really based on preference. The chicken came out very tender and delicious. I'm so happy I went with this recipe for dinner last night. I was craving it today even, and wished I had saved some to bring to lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Another hit at our school! What a fun way to get kiddos to try new food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was great especially after I added a cup of half and half cream then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States