Easy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
All you need to make this recipe PERFECT is a can of chicken broth! By adding the broth and a little extra onion, this recipe came out almost identical to my friends curried chicken and she's from Jamaica!! Also, curry powders vary, so only add as much powder as tastes good to you! This was soooo good, I had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anticipatingautumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe provides a great starting point for a delicious, easy curry. First I thinly sliced 3 large chicken breast halves and browned them in olive oil. While they were cooking I started the onion (in 3T. olive oil) in a separate skillet. To the onion I added sliced, fresh mushrooms and some frozen peas. When the veggies were heated I added 3 T. curry, some hot pepper flakes, 2 C. chicken broth and 1/2 C. unsweetened coconut milk. Finally, I stirred in the cooked chicken strips and let the whole thing cook for an additional 15 min. to reduce the broth. Served this over Texmati rice to my family of 4 and everyone really loved it! The 3 T. of curry powder seemed like plenty to us, but that's personal perference. This recipe would get 5 stars except that it had to be tweaked quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
What a mess! 1/3 cup of curry! This is too much and not enough in the way of other ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I agree this recipe isn't perfect because it produces very little sauce if any. I read the reviews while making it, and followed them. Simply add a cup or so of chicken broth, and other ingredients to taste (onions, green peppers, extra curry powder) and it makes for an outstanding curry recipe, you won't be dissatisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Something has got to missing from this recipe. Way too much curry and no sauce. I added a cup of water and a can of condensed cream of chicken soup. Helped save the dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Good recipe, but I took another's idea and added chicken broth, otherwise, it would not have any sauce to it. Also, I added green pepper. Next time, I would add onions and green peppers toward the end so they would keep some firmness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I tried this last night with the following changes based on other reviews. I added 1 can chicken broth. I also seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, garlic salt, and curry powder and let it marinate in the fridge for about 3 hours. After that, I followed the recipe and my family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Excellent dish for a first time curry cooker. It was simple and tasty, even better with a lot of onion and a pinch of cumin! Great base for a stew! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
this is an awesome recipe. very simple with the taste of hardwork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
was very nice but added some cream to make it less dry and it was perfect, thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolton, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States