Easy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made this recipe for 2 servings. I added: -the juice of a whole lime -a drizzle of honey -ginger powder -ground black pepper -plenty of salt - a handful of marinated green and black pitless olives - a handful of cherry tomatoes And it made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
the family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruben
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved how easy this recipe was compared to other curry recipes. I did make a few changes though...I added 2 cans of chicken brother and 1 cup of water, 1 green pepper, and mushrooms. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great base for a simple chicken curry! I've made this a few times now, and changed it up each time. I followed some other reviewer's directions, and pulled some stuff from other curry recipes. Don't use cornstarch to thicken (I agree with Cooks Illustrated that it gives a icky texture) Start reducing 1 cup coconut milk near the beginning of the recipe, and add it near the end. Definitely have to add salt to bring out the flavors. I add some minced garlic, and ginger powder, and soy sauce. Also, add 1 sliced green bell pepper about 10 minutes after starting the chicken (so that it doesn't get too mushy). I only cook the chicken for about 30-35 minutes, 45 is way too long. It's still missing something, but way closer to the curry I had in India!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very good basic recipe. We like our curry chicken on the spicy side so I added a can of Rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Never boneless chicken! sigh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
One of the reviewers is right, something has to be missing, I was gonna cook it as is, i started to and you cant, the sauteed onions with curry dries up fast, had to add water, or broth or something. Even after adding chicken broth, it was still pretty bland. We had to add plenty of soy sauce on the rice and butter and other seasonings to make it have some sort of flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I added cooked rice (1 cup dry) to make this a full meal with a veggie dish side. Skip all the oil...just enough to coat pan. Add can of chicken broth. When the chicken was done I added the rice and let it simmer for a couple minutes. I also bought Naan bread from the grocery store, toasted and buttered it and it was great dipped in the curry. I did not have any onions but it was still really good. I keep curry on hand from an authentic Indian market because they sell it by the bag instead of the little containers from grocery store. Easy and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had a bit of difficulty with this recipe. Not the cooking itself, but the instructions didn't really work. The chicken was done cooking in 25 minutes, and cooking it any more than 5 minutes with the lid off would have burned it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added one cup of chicken broth, a pinch of cumin, and some yoghurt at the end. Tasted very good, but I personally couldn't handle the spicy-ness, my family liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My husband and I moved far away from our favorite indian restaurant. So to fill the void I made this recipe. With the help of the other reviews, this dish hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States