Easy Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is perfect if you are searching for low-fat or low-carb recipes. My husband is doing low- carbs and I am doing low-fat/calories. I made these changes: 1 C. each peppers and onions, 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with juice, 1C. spinach instead of green beans, (the green beans seemed out of place to me). Served mine over rice, his over low-carb pasta. We topped it with Parmesan cheese. We both really enjoyed this but thought it could have been a little "saucier". Next time will try adding 1/2 C. chicken broth and 1/2 C. tomato sauce and see if that does the trick, but there definitely will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was a hit with my family. My husband, who dislikes mushrooms and green peppers, really liked it. He cleaned his plate, mushrooms and peppers included. My kids enjoyed it as well. I, like most moms, look for ways to include as many vegetables as I can in every meal. I also omitted the green beans. I used olive oil to saute the onions and garlic and added a can of tomato sauce for added liquid. For added color and veggies I included yellow and red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
my husband loved it and my kids (3 toddlers) scraped their plates clean and had seconds. i did as others suggested and added extra garlic. i didn't have whole tomatoes so i used a couple roma tomatoeos and a can of Italian stewed tomatoes with garlic, basil, and oregano. delicious! will have to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fabulous and easy.. I made a few changes. I diced fresh roma tomatoes instead of using canned, used 1 c of chopped onion and 1/2 c chopped pepper. Recipe didn't specify what to sautee so I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil. The fresh veggies made it taste like something straight from the garden. Excellent recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is an excellent summer dish! Very light and tasty on a hot day! The dish was so easy after a very busy day at work. I will be making this again for sure! My husband is eating it again for lunch! YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I was a little leary of the green beans in this, but I decided to try it. The dish was a huge hit. I almost triple the amount of garlic, because we are huge garlic fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
We loved this. I took the advice of others and omitted the green beans but added mushrooms, more garlic, and white wine. We put the dish over linguine and topped it with shredded parmesan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I love this recipe!! OK, so green beans are my worst enemy therefore, I just left them out. But the rest was fabulous! I put it over some rice and-so yummy! I added some chicken broth and lots of extra garlic as other reviewers had suggested and it was delicous! Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Brady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this using 1/2 can of Italian diced tomatoes and spinach. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is so easy and so good. If you don't have cooked chicken on hand just cook it with the onion and green peppers. was very pleased with how quickly this came together. I served this on whole wheat spaghetti. It would be great on rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States