Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
READ THIS FIRST: I haven't made this receipe but I DO have a suggestion. For the best dumplings ever I always use the Original Bisquick (not the reduced fat, it's terrible) and the receipe on the box. Everyone loves them and will be excited to hear the next time you are going to serve "dumplings". I've even made dumplings when serving canned soup. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
It was very easy I boiled my chicken instead of following the recipe and I thickened the broth before I put the dumplings on top, This is a very good dumpling recipe and I would recommend trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I don't know what I did wrong. This was my first attempt at dumplings and I'm no chef but based on the recipe, there didn't seem like enough liquid to poach the dumplings. It smelled wonderful and was overall pretty easy to prepare but my dumplings would have made better landfill. They were rubbery and just overall nasty. I don't blame this on the recipe but my inexperience - but I still think that there should be more liquid some how. I'll give this another try, I just don't think I'll use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Take the time to place the dough on a floured surface and roll it out to no more than 1/2" thickness. Cut into 1" wide strips (don't worry about the length of the strips). Bring the broth to a boil and drop the dough strips in one by one. Don't worry about covering the pot. The dumplings are done when the strips float to the top.Dress the bowl of chicken and dumplings with a few drops of green Tobasco sauce--So good it makes ya wanna holler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Seriously, all the boys in our house loved this. My husband had seconds. I have NEVER made dumplings before and this was easy. I do think it could have more broth added to make more sauce. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I absolutely LOVED the dumplings! They were so light and the buttermilk and parsley made them taste awesome. I think the key is to not use too much liquid. I used 2/3 c. of buttermilk + 2T. I used more broth and thickened it with some cornstarch. I also used chicken breast instead of boneless thighs. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This recipe is great, but if you are sreving more than one or two people you are going to increase the ingredients quite a bit. I fed 6 hungry men and 2 two year olds with the recipe adjusted for 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Not quite what I expected. The mixture seemed a bit "brothy" and the dumplings didn't quite work. At first, there wasn't enough liquid to hold them together, so I put in more buttermilk and they ended up being weird doughballs. Still in search of a good recipe for this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This had a very good flavor and was very easy to make. My family enjoyed this a lot. My only suggestion is to increase the sauce. It doesn't make enough. The dumplings were very good, but took a little longer than recipe stated. Very easy alternative to chicken pot pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
my son and his friend said this was edible.....that means very good!!! my husband had seconds and he has never liked my dumplings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States