Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
It was very easy I boiled my chicken instead of following the recipe and I thickened the broth before I put the dumplings on top, This is a very good dumpling recipe and I would recommend trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
my son and his friend said this was edible.....that means very good!!! my husband had seconds and he has never liked my dumplings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Seriously, all the boys in our house loved this. My husband had seconds. I have NEVER made dumplings before and this was easy. I do think it could have more broth added to make more sauce. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I don't know what I did wrong. This was my first attempt at dumplings and I'm no chef but based on the recipe, there didn't seem like enough liquid to poach the dumplings. It smelled wonderful and was overall pretty easy to prepare but my dumplings would have made better landfill. They were rubbery and just overall nasty. I don't blame this on the recipe but my inexperience - but I still think that there should be more liquid some how. I'll give this another try, I just don't think I'll use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Not quite what I expected. The mixture seemed a bit "brothy" and the dumplings didn't quite work. At first, there wasn't enough liquid to hold them together, so I put in more buttermilk and they ended up being weird doughballs. Still in search of a good recipe for this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I pretty much did my own thing on the chicken/soup part of the recipe so I won't even comment on that part, but the dumplings were a disaster. I doubled the recipe to feed 8, and should have kept the same amount of dumpling batter for the original recipe for 4. I had to throw a big lump of it out. They were gummy, pratically runny, even after the recommended cooking time with the lid securely in place the whole time. They pretty much tasted like cooked flour. Sorry, not my idea of a good dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This recipe is great, but if you are sreving more than one or two people you are going to increase the ingredients quite a bit. I fed 6 hungry men and 2 two year olds with the recipe adjusted for 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
READ THIS FIRST: I haven't made this receipe but I DO have a suggestion. For the best dumplings ever I always use the Original Bisquick (not the reduced fat, it's terrible) and the receipe on the box. Everyone loves them and will be excited to hear the next time you are going to serve "dumplings". I've even made dumplings when serving canned soup. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Take the time to place the dough on a floured surface and roll it out to no more than 1/2" thickness. Cut into 1" wide strips (don't worry about the length of the strips). Bring the broth to a boil and drop the dough strips in one by one. Don't worry about covering the pot. The dumplings are done when the strips float to the top.Dress the bowl of chicken and dumplings with a few drops of green Tobasco sauce--So good it makes ya wanna holler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I absolutely LOVED the dumplings! They were so light and the buttermilk and parsley made them taste awesome. I think the key is to not use too much liquid. I used 2/3 c. of buttermilk + 2T. I used more broth and thickened it with some cornstarch. I also used chicken breast instead of boneless thighs. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States