Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This had a very good flavor and was very easy to make. My family enjoyed this a lot. My only suggestion is to increase the sauce. It doesn't make enough. The dumplings were very good, but took a little longer than recipe stated. Very easy alternative to chicken pot pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was very good, but as others have said, it does seem to need more liquid. I used two cups of broth and it was not enough. It also seems like too many dumplings. Along with the onion and garlic I also sauteed celery and carrots. I added some frozen peas and green beans instead of mixed vegetables. The broth thickened a bit with the addition of the dumplings, and since there wasn't enough it was pretty much absorbed. I will make this again using more broth. The dumplings are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I added 3 cups more broth to cook dumplings and added garlic since we love garlic. My family loved it. Easy with no leftovers.Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very easy and delicious, I added a lot of garlic which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I agree with others that it needs more broth. I added a can of broth plus one cup, but will add more next time I make it. I think the dumplings were great. You will probably have some dough leftover. I have to disagree with Claudia who suggested using Bisquick, nothing beats dumplings made from scratch! The flavor was excellent. Thanks for sharing, Jenny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I used dried parsley in the dumplings and used a rolling pin to roll them into thin strips. My grandson said he loved the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Very simple to make and the dumplings add a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I absolutely LOVED the dumplings! They were so light and the buttermilk and parsley made them taste awesome. I think the key is to not use too much liquid. I used 2/3 c. of buttermilk + 2T. I used more broth and thickened it with some cornstarch. I also used chicken breast instead of boneless thighs. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Take the time to place the dough on a floured surface and roll it out to no more than 1/2" thickness. Cut into 1" wide strips (don't worry about the length of the strips). Bring the broth to a boil and drop the dough strips in one by one. Don't worry about covering the pot. The dumplings are done when the strips float to the top.Dress the bowl of chicken and dumplings with a few drops of green Tobasco sauce--So good it makes ya wanna holler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
READ THIS FIRST: I haven't made this receipe but I DO have a suggestion. For the best dumplings ever I always use the Original Bisquick (not the reduced fat, it's terrible) and the receipe on the box. Everyone loves them and will be excited to hear the next time you are going to serve "dumplings". I've even made dumplings when serving canned soup. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States