Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Not EASY by far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgtcliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Just average. Not great. Not horrible though. It was a good recipe to use my leftover roast chicken for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a delicious dish of chicken and dumplings. Mine came out a tad dry and next time I'll add a bit more chicken boullion. Otherwise, it was perfect and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeavenleeKid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used Bisquick dumplings, they are easier and sooo good! Make sure that you let the soup cool a little before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
My boyfriend loved this recipe,(myself not so much but I think its just more a matter of taste.) It looked and smelled delicious. I had to change the recipe just a little because I didn't have any sage so I substituted savory. I added a half can of water to make sure there was enough sauce to cook the dumplings in. Also always be careful with how much milk you use when making pastry-type dishes because you should be able to roll the dough out and knead it to make it tender and fluffy and I definitely didn't have to use as much buttermilk as the recipe called for. For those of you who don't have buttermilk the standard substution is for every cup regular milk one Tablespoon lemon juice and let stand for a few minutes before using. Very good recipe but I won't be making it again simple on a matter of preference (I hate not liking what I cook no matter who else does like it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I used Trader Joe's multigrain baking mix for the dumplings, and it was a very tasty and nutritious meal for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
It was really good, but I used breasts, cubed, instead of thighs. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I have to go middle of the road on this one. I did have to add much more seasoning than is called for as we are a family that craves spice. I normally make the drop dumplings like in the recipe, but this time I followed other reviewers' suggestions and took the time to roll out the dough. It got mixed reviews from the family. The oldest, who is usually the most picky, liked it "a little more" than my usual fluffy dumplings. The middle child, who will eat ANYTHING, didn't even make it half way through the bowl and asked for a PB&J instead. The youngest shrugged and said "they're okay". Hubby liked them better than my regular drop dumplings so I guess it will be a trade off for dumplings in our house. I'll just say to the family...STOP!...DROP OR ROLL????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Followed this recipe to the letter and the family declared a pizza night. Used to creamy chicken and dumplins and this recipe is for the soupy type. Family tried it, but hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I like it best when I cut and add the veggies myself. The meal tastes so much better that way! However, the dumplings are GREAT with this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States