Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My family really enjoyed this dish and i enjoyed how simple it was to make. I did not follow the recipe exactly since I used my own chicken stock. My chicken stock is well seasoned already so I did not add the seasonings. For the dumpling I did use a more traditional biscuit dough (with parsley) as I do not keep items such as self-rising flour in the house. I really enjoyed this and I will definitely be making it again soon. I would not suggest using bisquick or canned soups, but I suppose that it is my preference not to use foods I do not process myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The soup was a little bland for me. I added just a little salt and that made it so much better. I needed to add more broth to bring it up to the top of the chicken and veggies so I could poach the dumplings. As for the dumplings, I didn't care for them. I usually love dumplings but these came out really doughy and gummy. Next time I will add a little salt to the recipe and use my mom's old standby for dumplings, (pillsbury biscuits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this today and it is the best recipe ever! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikehattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
THis was a HIT with all my little ones - they gobbled it up! Changes I made were fresh veggies and 2 quarts of broth so it would truly be a soup and feel good on these sore little throats. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Hubby loved the dumplings, just wanted me to make more and make them bigger. I made my own personal version of the chicken and broth and added a few things, but the main thing is that the dumplings were a hit!!!! Thanks!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was almost too easy to make! I followed some of the suggestions of other readers, however, you can really adjust it any way you want it. This one's going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was sooo good. I cook from scratch quite a bit, but had never made chicken and dumplings. My husband is the dumpling fan...not me. The only changes I made was using poultry seasoning, subbed fresh cut carrots and I more than doubled the broth. I still felt like I could have tripled it and this was for three people and a toddler. My dumplings turned out quite gummy, but maybe I didn't let them simmer long enough for their size. Another recipe says by adding some cornmeal to the dumpling dough solves this issue. Might have to try that some time. I also browned my chicken and used on the bone in chicken breasts. Then removed the meat and shredded it. I was a little unsure if this was going to be good. It looked like dirty chicken soup until I added the dumplings. All of a sudden it looked thick and tasty. Everyone liked it and I have to be super careful with my teen and husband. Definitely adding this in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Easy, tasty and filling recipe. I subbed chopped cooked chicken for chicken breasts and added them last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I doubled this recipe and added a can of Cream of Chicken soup... and it was SO good! This is definitely entering my dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Not EASY by far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgtcliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States