Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is wonderful. Like another reviewer, I put everything (even the stick of butter) in the slow cooker. I added a lot of seasoning salt, hot sauce, and black pepper to my liking, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to the T. Every time I eat some, I have to have seconds. I've told so many people about the recipe. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this and substituted leftover cooked, shredded turkey for the chicken, I also used 2 cups of 2% milk and 1 cup of light cream in place of the half-and-half. The chowder was plenty thick, and just a little bit lighter! Super-comforting dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this for supper & everybody loved it,I'll make it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is similar to the recipe I use. There is one thing I do a bit different that adds a ton of flavor. I take a package of bacon and cook it in the large pot to start. Pull the bacon out but leave the grease and use that to cook the onions. You get the wonderful flavor of bacon in the onions and throughout the chowder. I crumble the bacon that I cooked and top the chowder with it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best soup I have ever made...my family agrees! I cooked my own bone-in chicken breasts with bouillion cubes, a celery stalk, whole peeled onion and a whole carrot...I discarded the cooked veggies and used the broth from that for my base. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing, except maybe to chop the veggies in the recipe in a food processor to save time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Loved how the roux and sautéed veggies were a combined step. Easy to follow and a perfect, creamy soup. I've never added nutmeg to my chicken soup before. Delicious. As for the seasoning/salt issue, rotisserie chicken tends to be much saltier than raw or home prepared, so perhaps that is where others were surprised by the need to add more salt. if you don't sauté the veggies too, it will reduce flavor A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Amazing recipe (as is)... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I make a very similar Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Corn Soup recipe. That version is more 'brothy' rather than creamy as it doesn't use the half & half. I also add about 4-5 sliced hard-boiled eggs. Otherwise, the same. I usually cook the chicken & use the broth, as others have mentioned. (Another version my father-in-law uses is to use canned creamed corn to cut the half & half, if you are looking to cut some fat/dairy/calories.) I like to use only white sweet corn. Great with a crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Haven't tried the recipe, but want to. Looks delicious! Can fat-free half & half be used instead if regular?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this last night and it was delicious and very easy. I only had 1% milk so I used that instead of half and half and it was still yummy. Definately will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States