Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I so loved this recipe. I followed it with the exception of omitting celery (my husband hates it) and I did feel it needed a lot more salt than what the recipe called for. I used seasoning salt. It was delicious. My husband said it was "a homerun" and had 2 bowls. This is going in the make again and again pile of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Oh my!!! This soup was to die for!! I added a little extra corn and potatoes and used more chicken. I used 1 1/2 cups skim milk and 1 cup of fat free cream. I did use real butter. This meant I had to use more stock. The roux was easy and added so much flavor --- the depth of flavor would not have been reached with everything done in a crock pot. A meal in itself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Burt Beaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was an excellent meal that everyone loved. I did it exactly as outlined, but added the bacon as one of the reviews mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We enjoyed this soup! I followed the recipe as is except only used 1 cup of half and half to make it a bit lighter. It still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NittanyLionLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
awesome recipe!!! i used only 2 potatoes instead of four and i used 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream and 1 cup 2% milk. So delicious! my kids and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This recipe needed more flavor-I added bay leaves But other than that followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We love soups in the colder months with a hearty loaf of artisan bread! I have been trying to find a corn chowder like my mom's and this came close! I had a bag of frozen yellow corn, and a can of creamed corn in the pantry, so that's what I used. This recipe needed some seasoning though! I like that the recipe calls for nutmeg which is great in creamy soups. I also added a half of small jar of pimento which gives great flavor to creammy soupy and used white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Good recipe - I cooked & shredded some chicken earlier in the day for this; cheated & used canned golden corn. Easy peasy recipe! I tweaked it just a bit & added some turmeric in final stage to give it nice happy color so it didn't look too pale. And fresh ground multi colored peppercorns. Yummy with a big chunk of Safeway's bakery dutch crunch bread. Next time I may make a curried variation & take away the half and half for my grown daughter who is lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I mostly followed the recipe but substituted 2% evaporated milk for the 1/2 & 1/2 & used celery seed in place of celery. I also made my own stock by boiling the chicken (we'd used the breast meat for another meal) & used all the meat that was left from the legs & thighs. Great way to finish off a rotisserie chicken & make a nice meal with our least favorite parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa77
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Loved it! Followed the recipe except I left out carrots because I don't like them and added more flour since I like it thick. Really good on a chilly day. Made it in the slow cooker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States