Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Great recipe! I threw it all in the crockpot while I slept during the day so dinner was ready when I woke up. Also, I used soy half/half instead of lactose because my bf is lactose intolerant. The substitution actually worked well bc it added a very subtle sweetness. I also added some spices like Italian seasoning, chicken bouillon cubes and Cajun seasoning to give it more flavor. Very easy and delicious, id def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this two nights ago and my family couldn't get enough! I subbed out 3/4 c. heavy cream for the half and half (that was all I had) and only used two tablespoons of butter (again, that was all I had left) and it was divine! So delicious that my family all asked that I make this a regular on our menu! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very bland. Was most disappointed. Made it exactly according to direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
EXCELLENT! This is the easiest most delicious corn chowder i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wilson
Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We loved this delicious, easy soup! I did use boiled chicken breasts, and was excellent! I was skeptical of cooking the potatoes AFTER adding roux and half & half, but it worked beautifully! I used 2 regular sized cans of yellowv/white corn. Didn't even know that they were packaged together until now! Bottom line...AWESOME SOUP WITH ENOUGH FOR LOTS OF LEFTOVERS TO SHARE(or not ;-)!)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good, but a little bland. I will try adding bacon like another reviewer shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made it exactly as written and it was excellent. Next time I may substitute low fat milk for some of the half & half and may add a little bacon to garnish but other than that I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love cooking and try recipes on here(as they are posted) all the time(that way I TRULY know if I need to add something or maybe I just need to allow myself to try new things/taste/flavors. My palate(did I spell that right?) is special... My mom wasn't feeling too well and trying to adhere to a diet but I knew she needed SOMEthing and somehow I stumbled across this recipe...made it as is and still throughly enjoyed it! Thank you so much for sharing!!!! Never used nutmeg and will do it next time with whatever I do to make it my own. Thank you, thank you, thank you, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This just moved up to my favorite chowder. I treat myself and my family to what I call comfort food once in a while and this is one of those treats I enjoy. Now back to low calorie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made it exactly according to the recipe which I always do for the first time. I made this chowder using rotisserie chicken from Costco. I did cut the recipe in half because it is only my husband and myself at home. We liked it very much, especially the tip about adding the vegetable to the roué. I will do that more often in the future. It was very good but could have used a little more flavor so you don't need to add so much salt & pepper. I'd hate to add an herb like rosemary or cumin because it would change the flavor too much. We did have leftovers and I added a little more salt & pepper, a little poultry seasoning and 3 strips of crumbled bacon as others suggested. This enhanced the flavor without really changing the original taste. For all those who left out the carrots and celery I would like to offer a tip. Diced them until they are teeny-tiny. My husband always pulls the carrots out of stew, soup or chicken pies but he doesn't even notice them when I do this and I get to add those flavors. I am sure I will make this again. Thanks for sharing Athyna .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States