Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
this recipe is good as written. My only suggestion would be to add the corn and chicken in at the end to warm up since they are already cooked. To save steps, I just made the roux when the carrots, celery & onion were cooked (instead of setting the veggies aside and then going back to add the stock). The recipe can be changed up however you want... add cheese, diced jalapenos, chopped roasted poblano or red peppers, so on and so on according to your own taste. I like spicy so after trying the original dish, I warmed some up with a couple of drops of Sriracha - great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe is very good the way it is but the adjustments that I made for my taste buds was I added some red pepper (did the black pepper also), curry, and a little seasoned salt (sorry, I never measure anything). Also, instead of cooking it the final 20 minutes, I just did it for 5 minutes and then turned the stove off and let it sit for about 30 minutes. The potatoes were cooked to just the right texture - not super soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This chowder was very good. Will make it again & probably many times over. Took some to a co-worker & he loved it too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! Loved it so much the first time I made it, I made it again the next week. Tastes great with Stacy's Pita Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
The fun of finding a recipe that inspires your taste buds is to make it and add or omit to your "personal" preferences. This recipe would probably be good if you followed it exactly, however, it's absolutely divine if you tweak it and experiment a bit. I took the advice of a few others and did add more flavoring as I kept tasting as I made it. I added celery salt, garlic salt and did cook the onion in bacon fat. I'm so glad I found this recipe as it's such a great meal with some fresh sourdough bread to accompany - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I thought the chowder was bland, but my husband loved it. Next time I will try the tip of Browning onions in bacon grease and using reserved bacon as a crumbled garnish on finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this the other night and the family loved it! I only used 1 1/2 cups of half & half and it came out great. Oh, and instead of flour, I used cornstarch (1/4 cup)...still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Worked well for me. Like a previous reviewer, I didn't have chicken stock. I boiled the chicken and used the broth. It may have had a more rich flavor with stock but I had already subbed 1/4 bacon fat for some of the butter so nobody noticed. I would recommend paying attention to salt and pepper amounts. This chowder is heavy on corn, potatoes and cream - all of which soak up salt. After cooking and adding salt at various steps, it still wasn't "salty". If you're worried about adding too much salt during the process, just add to taste at serving time. Froze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB in HS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Great recipe! I threw it all in the crockpot while I slept during the day so dinner was ready when I woke up. Also, I used soy half/half instead of lactose because my bf is lactose intolerant. The substitution actually worked well bc it added a very subtle sweetness. I also added some spices like Italian seasoning, chicken bouillon cubes and Cajun seasoning to give it more flavor. Very easy and delicious, id def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this two nights ago and my family couldn't get enough! I subbed out 3/4 c. heavy cream for the half and half (that was all I had) and only used two tablespoons of butter (again, that was all I had left) and it was divine! So delicious that my family all asked that I make this a regular on our menu! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States