Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
My family loved this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Sea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Don't have celery? Out of half-half? Need your soup to be dairy-free? Like a little more spice? No problem. This is an extremely flexible and forgiving recipe that will reliably result in a tasty soup (or chowder if you prefer). Although I have used this recipe exactly as written or with minor substitutions many times, last night I put it to the test in several ways. I didn't add any celery (I was out of it), used white potatoes instead of russet, added an extra cup of broth and skipped the dairy all together, and added most of a 7 oz can of chopped green chilis. Also, I didn't use a rotisserie chicken but instead shredded broiled chicken breasts. Still, the soup tasted great and had a satisfying texture. Admittedly, while this is an easy soup to make, it is not a quick process even if you use a rotisserie chicken. I double the recipe but freeze the extra BEFORE completing the last step. Another suggestion, if you want a great soup quickly, have as many of the diced and shredded ingredients on-hand in your freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I used a rotisserie chicken, used the bones to make the stock (yield about 5 cups). I also fried up about 8 thick slices of bacon and used the fat in place of the butter, to make up for that I used low fat 1/2 and 1/2. Served with a little bacon crumbles and some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Easy as 1 2 3, and my family loved it...Will be making this alot on cold winter nights...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I didn't add garlic or nutmeg. Instead I used rosemary (crushed) and Thyme with some parsley. I used my roast chicken left over carcass and added some thighs for the "fatty meats" While the chicken was cooking in the stock, I sautéed my celery, onions, carrots and butter but added bacon to it as well...strained out my broth into another pot and took chicken off the bone and added all of it to the broth, thickened with heavy cream and cornstarch and added a little milk as well. I didn't add salt as I used the Knorrs bullion to the water while the chicken was cooking and also with the bacon it was salty enough..This has always been a sig dish of mine, great fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy toutant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This came out delicious. I used poached chicken and added extra nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Will definitely be making this again! Used fresh corn and cooked the cobs in the chicken broth with the chicken for extra corny flavor! Also added a can of creamed corn, and substituted 2% milk for the half and half! and red skin potatoes for the russets (I'm way to lazy to peel potatoes!). It's lengthy thick and delicious! So glad there's enough for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenniferliebold
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Love this delicious soup on a cold day. I add an jalapeño to the carrot/celery/onion mix and cayenne with the half and half to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was fun to prepare. I did not use butter, I chopped 10 slices of bacon and added the carrot, celery, onion, garlic and then I added 2 diced Jalapenos and cooked the entire mix together then I added the flour and added everything into the slow cooker. I also added 2 cans of creamed corn to mine. I did not add any salt but I added a lot of fresh ground pepper. This was absolutely an amazing soup, and my house smelled wonderful. My roommate said he was drooling all day long, the bacon really adds a ton of flavor. I got the bacon idea from one of your other reviews by angel090401. I served this with Jalapeno Cheddar rolls and it was a huge hit, I had enough left over to freeze half and feed us a few more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This stuff is amazing! Highly recommend this recipe - it's really easy and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Garris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States