Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! One of my families favourites! I'm not sure why anyone would do this soup in a crock pot when it's ready for the table in two hours. I also used bacon fat instead of the butter and sprinkled the bacon in at the end. It's the go to soup this winter, it's a five star plus star to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I just made this and it was yummy! I did make a couple of changes, though. I browned Turkey bacon in the butter during the first step then just left it in. Since my family is dairy allergic/intolerant, I used soy creamer to get that nice, thick creamy taste without the cream. All I had was raw chicken tenderloins, so I chopped them up and tossed them in during the final simmer. It did require a lot of salt because Turkey bacon contributes only a little. I bet regular bacon would help with that. I was looking for a chicken corn chowder that didn't have jalapeno but DID have flavor. This is a good one but can imagine it being bland without the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
My family loved this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Don't have celery? Out of half-half? Need your soup to be dairy-free? Like a little more spice? No problem. This is an extremely flexible and forgiving recipe that will reliably result in a tasty soup (or chowder if you prefer). Although I have used this recipe exactly as written or with minor substitutions many times, last night I put it to the test in several ways. I didn't add any celery (I was out of it), used white potatoes instead of russet, added an extra cup of broth and skipped the dairy all together, and added most of a 7 oz can of chopped green chilis. Also, I didn't use a rotisserie chicken but instead shredded broiled chicken breasts. Still, the soup tasted great and had a satisfying texture. Admittedly, while this is an easy soup to make, it is not a quick process even if you use a rotisserie chicken. I double the recipe but freeze the extra BEFORE completing the last step. Another suggestion, if you want a great soup quickly, have as many of the diced and shredded ingredients on-hand in your freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I used a rotisserie chicken, used the bones to make the stock (yield about 5 cups). I also fried up about 8 thick slices of bacon and used the fat in place of the butter, to make up for that I used low fat 1/2 and 1/2. Served with a little bacon crumbles and some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Easy as 1 2 3, and my family loved it...Will be making this alot on cold winter nights...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I didn't add garlic or nutmeg. Instead I used rosemary (crushed) and Thyme with some parsley. I used my roast chicken left over carcass and added some thighs for the "fatty meats" While the chicken was cooking in the stock, I sautéed my celery, onions, carrots and butter but added bacon to it as well...strained out my broth into another pot and took chicken off the bone and added all of it to the broth, thickened with heavy cream and cornstarch and added a little milk as well. I didn't add salt as I used the Knorrs bullion to the water while the chicken was cooking and also with the bacon it was salty enough..This has always been a sig dish of mine, great fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy toutant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This came out delicious. I used poached chicken and added extra nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Will definitely be making this again! Used fresh corn and cooked the cobs in the chicken broth with the chicken for extra corny flavor! Also added a can of creamed corn, and substituted 2% milk for the half and half! and red skin potatoes for the russets (I'm way to lazy to peel potatoes!). It's lengthy thick and delicious! So glad there's enough for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenniferliebold
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Love this delicious soup on a cold day. I add an jalapeño to the carrot/celery/onion mix and cayenne with the half and half to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States