Easy, Cheesy Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I wasn't crazy about this. It was very watery and bland. The zucchini was hard despite the longercooking time as othrs have suggested. I don't understand why this one got such good reviews. My kids thought is was tasteless. Hubby thought it was okay. Won't make this again. I will stick with my turkey meatballs recipe for ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this tonight with a few changes. I browned the ground turkey, added finely chopped fresh spinach, chopped zucchini, and frozen corn. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I added cumin & chili powder to season it. I skipped baking it in the oven & skipped the spaghetti sauce (totally forgot about adding it, but liked it without), but still added shredded cheese. The casserole was served over brown rice. My kids gave it two thumbs up, though my son picked around the zucchini. Next time I'll probably add some minced garlic to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
It was pretty good, a little bit of trouble with the wateriness, but not too much to notice. I didn't bother layering, just dumped one mixture on top of the other. I did add olives before adding cheese, and it was a definite plus. Everyone loved it, and it felt healthy, and so chocked with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was such a good, simple and nutritious recipe. I did omit the corn, added onion, garlic, and italian seasoning, and served it over large macaroni noodles to increase the kid appeal. My kids refuse to eat zucchini, but they tried it and admitted that it was pretty good. The zucchini takes on the flavor of the sauce. Had the leftovers for lunch today and they were great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a good, easy recipe, but a bit bland. Next time will add some spices like cayenne pepper and garlic powder to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a great kids meal served over rice. My four year old and 1 year old really liked it. I cooked zucchini first then cooked turkey, onion, garlic, mushrooms, and oregano. Added corn to the top. And then cheese. Good, easy, and best off quick meal. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I changed this one up after reading the reviews- used 1/2 pound lean ground beef browned with about a cup of chopped vidalia onion. Put this atop the zucchini (sliced into bite size pieces) and then a layer of sliced pepperoni, then sauce, then another layer of pepperoni, then the cheeses- mozz, asiago, romano and parmesan. This variation added just enough flavor and went great with corn on the cob and fresh bread to dip in the juices! Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Every year neighbors drop off zucchini and I'm always left wondering what to do with their over-grown vegies. I decided to try this dish and I was not disappointed. It even got a 'This stuff is good,' from my 14 year old son. I used chopped Italian turkey sausage, diced in a few garden-ripened tomatoes, and used fresh corn straight off the cob. Because of other reviewer's remarks about the time it took to cook the zucchini, I sliced and sauteed it for a few minutes with salt, pepper, and a few cloves of crushed garlic. I also decreased the sauce by about half because of the tomatoes. Served with biscuits it was delish. I'll definitely make this the next time I find a basket of zucchini on the porch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Our family is trying to eat healthy. My kids have never eaten Zucchini and they actually liked this and wanted seconds! My husband even liked it. Very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've made this a number of times and love it! It's quick, tasty, and nutritious. I do use ground beef and slice the zucchini in thick chunks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States