Easy, Cheesy Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Every year neighbors drop off zucchini and I'm always left wondering what to do with their over-grown vegies. I decided to try this dish and I was not disappointed. It even got a 'This stuff is good,' from my 14 year old son. I used chopped Italian turkey sausage, diced in a few garden-ripened tomatoes, and used fresh corn straight off the cob. Because of other reviewer's remarks about the time it took to cook the zucchini, I sliced and sauteed it for a few minutes with salt, pepper, and a few cloves of crushed garlic. I also decreased the sauce by about half because of the tomatoes. Served with biscuits it was delish. I'll definitely make this the next time I find a basket of zucchini on the porch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Our family is trying to eat healthy. My kids have never eaten Zucchini and they actually liked this and wanted seconds! My husband even liked it. Very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've made this a number of times and love it! It's quick, tasty, and nutritious. I do use ground beef and slice the zucchini in thick chunks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was good, will make again. I pretty much followed recipe, but based on others having problems with zuchinni, I melted a little butter & sauteed the zuchinni until the started to brown slightly. I browned the turkey in the same pan I sauteed the zuchinni in & also added some chopped onions & garlic. I mixed in 2 cups of ragu spaghetti sauce w/mushrooms & green peppers & a can of corn & poured over the zuchinni! Covered & baked for about 30 minutes, removed foil, let cook another 10 minutes to thicken it up a little more & then put some freshly shredded cheddar cheese over the top, cooked until bubbly. I served it over wild rice (uncle ben's) & made garlic bread to go with it. My fiance liked it & said he'd take some to work today for lunch..(he is picky & will not take leftovers if he thought the meal was just ok) Nice change from hamburger meat & chicken & pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This meal was super quick and easy to make. I stacked slices of zucchini instead of halving them and they cooked perfectly. I also used a lot of seasoning (onion powder and garlic herb mix from Costco)in the turkey. My husband and I enjoyed it and will most likely have it again. i think the next time I will use less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is a very easy and delicious meal. My kids like it, as does my husband. The second time I made it I only had a partial jar of spaghetti sauce, about 2 cups, and the dish turned out less watery but just as tasty. We love cheese, so I added more to taste. Very good, and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was very good. I ended up using cream of chicken soup instead of spaghetti sauce and omitted the corn. I thought that I had a jar of spaghetti sauce when I started cooking, but I didnt. I also sliced the zucchini and cooked it with the turkey because of other issues with it not being tender. I also added garlic and bread crumbs to the zucchini/turkey mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I used a huge zucchini cut in quarters, salsa, and fat free cheddar cheese and served it with a little brown rice. The zucchini was still too firm after over 45 minutes of baking. If I try this again I'll try sliced zucchini as the base. Overall, it was a good healthy alternative, but still a little strange. I liked it, but my husband wasn't too crazy about it. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This recipe was a hit at my house. I tweaked this recipe by chopping the zucchini, adding fresh mushrooms to the ground turkey and sprinkling in some salt, pepper and onion powder. I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BWolfe925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I only used 2 cups of marinara and smaller zucchinis. I also added chopped jalapenos, black olives and feta cheese. When I browned the turkey burger, I added garlic salt, pepper and italian seasoning. Cooked for 25 minutes under foil, then 10 minutes uncovered. I had no problem with the zucchini being tender or the dish being too watery. I think next time I would just quarter up the zucchini in bite sizes. It didn't seem to absorb any of the flavor. Tasty but needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportshealer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States