Easy, Cheesy Tortellini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I am happy to be the first to rate this recipe. It was really good. I mdae it for company the other day. I served it with some procuitto wrapped asparagus and my guests thought I had worked on a gourmet meal all day. They asked for the recipe and took home the leftovers. This is a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Like many other reviewers, I added extra tortellini. In fact, I tripled it. I bought 2 19oz packages of frozen tortellini and used 1 1/2 of them. I used the same amounts of sauce, but rinsed the jars with a couple oz of water which I mixed in. I also baked the tortellini for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees F covered, then added the cheese on top and baked about 10 more minutes uncovered. This is a very tasty dish. Hubby thought there was too much "green stuff", but I really liked the spinach. It's all in your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe was not only delicious, but incredibly easy to make (hence the name, I suppose). My only suggestion is to increase the amount of noodles used. There is too much sauce for the small package of tortellini. We solved this problem by dipping garlic bread in the sauce. I bet it would also be great if you substituted the tortellini with penne noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe, BUT I am only giving 4 stars because it all depends on what brands/flavor sauces you use as to how well this turns out. Our first time this was amazing! We used Prego Onion and Garlic sauce. The second time we used Ragu (can't remember what kind, something similar) and it was pretty salty and tasteless. Having made the recipe before we knew how great it was and will make it again. But if we hadn't made it previously with such awesome results, we never would have touched it again. That's what a big difference the sauce can make. I recommend going for something more tomato'y, not sweet or cheesy. If you sample your sauce and it's too sweet, try mixing a little tomato paste into it. Anyway, great recipe, IF you can pick the right kind of spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I completely agree with other reviewers that this recipe requires additional tortellini to keep it from being soupy. Since my husband and I are watching calories, I used a store-bought parmesan & mozzarella white sauce in place of the alfredo sauce. It tastes similar to the alfredo but cuts out about 40 calories per serving, and 5.5 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is really good. I plan to try it withe less cheese topping next time. It didn't seem to add a lot to the flavor and adds lots of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just cannot suffer kitchen snobs! So what if the ingredients come out of jars/boxes/bags? It's all in how you put it together! This was fast, easy and more importantly, tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very good. I did what others suggested. I used 13 ounces of noodles, 18 ounces of marinara, and 13 ounces of alfredo sauce. There was still just a little left over for sopping the bread. I did not think the cheese was overwhelming as other users suggested but I do like cheese. It was awesome. Thanks so much poster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I loved this recipe. I did make some variations.. I used Penne pasta instead of the tortellini. I didn't use as much pasta (about 8 ounces) because I sauted vegetables and made it a little healthier. I used 1 green bell pepper, 1 yellow bell pepper, 8 oz of fresh mushrooms, 1 small red onion, 3 cloves of finely minced garlic, 8 oz of fresh spinach and 1 small can of sliced black olives along with the italian seasoning and 1 bay leaf. Put it all together in a cassarole dish...with the marinara sauce and alfredo sauce.... mixed 8 oz of parmasean cheese, 2 cups of moterey jack into the pasta... and topped it with 2 cups mozerella. Did'nt need a salad......and warmed up a loaf of focaccia. It was a feast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I increased the amount of tortellini (based on the fact that others said it was too saucy). There was still plenty of sauce for dipping bread in. I also didn't broil the top, just stuck it in a hot oven until the cheese melted. To cut some of the fat, I think next time I'll just skip the melted cheese on top. It would be delicious with out. I know some people mentioned they thought it was too spinachy. I didn't find that to be true. Served this with a green salad and foccacia. A lovely meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States