Easy Cheesy Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family loved this soup! I read all the reviews before trying it and just changed a few things...Used cream of celery soup, added 1 onion that I put through my food processer so there would be no "crunchies" & at the end tossed in 1 head of broccali florets which I steamed in the microwave. My family topped with shredded cheddar & croutons - but I thought it was great plain! & EASY, Oh~ I made it for 6. Will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was so quick and easy to make! I had dinner cooked and on the table in less than 15 minutes. The only change I made was to use cream of celery in place of the mushroom. I think it really helped. I served in sourdough bread bowls and the presentation was wonderful. Will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I make a soup very similar to this one and it is really very good. I read with outrage the reviewer who gave this recipe only 2 stars because it used canned soup, frozen broccoli, and processed cheese. WHAT A SNOB! I don't know where s/he lives, but it is not always convenient to "pop" 15 to 20 miles (at the very least) to the nearest grocer for fresh whatever. This is a great soup to make with ingredients that have a long shelf life and can be kept on hand for whenever needed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Morehead Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Easy and tastes great. Yes, it would be better to use fresh ingredients, but heh, when it tastes great and is easy, it rates a 5! Sometimes we make changes to this recipe such as using cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom or using fresh broccoli - no matter what we substitute or use this is a great base recipe... try it... you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisa Wolf Schrock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this last night for dinner and it was pretty good, but not the best I've ever had. I like that it was quick and easy to make so i will probably make it agian sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very fast and simple. There was nothing left it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
It was okay, the cream of mushroom in a cheesy broccoli soup didn't sound good at all, so I just used chicken broth and some heavy cream in its place. I never bought processed cheese or Velveeta before, but I had some and I made this, but I don't care for the processed cheese taste in the soup. I make a lot of broccoli soup and I have my own recipe and I think I will stick to that one. I agree with CT Gorumet's review, there isn't anything healthy by using non-fresh and processed products, it is easier to use fresh ingredients and real cheese which is healthier than processed cheese. Sorry, but there are better versions out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wow! Great recipe! Exactly what I had in mind when I began to crave soup for lunch. Of course I can leave well enough alone so I did tweak a bit. I used fresh broccoli which I poached in chicken stock then mashed with my potato masher. Then added the cream of mushroom soup, cheese, and one can of milk. I am going to top with a bit of shredded cheddar and enjoy my lunch! Perfect for a chilly afternoon :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This soup is fantastic I used frozen Broccoli and Cheese instead of just Broccoli and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I only used Velveeta, and it definitely could have used cheddar or some real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States