Easy Cheesy Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by xCestlavie
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have made this twice, and with soup I tend to double or triple batches for the sake of leftovers. The first time around, I followed the recipe as is and was made sick by the amount of velveeta. I chose this recipe for speed and convenience, not healthful ingredients and was just looking for a quick mid week meal. I never use velveeta, so I was surprised that doubling this recipe made it so overpowering. I just made a batch with everything doubled except the velveeta and found this much more palatable. Delicious for what it is, just be careful with the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xCestlavie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I took advice from another reviewer and used some broccoli crowns I had in the fridge, which I steamed and instead of mushroom soup I used cream of broccoli. The cheese I used was not velveeta, but something very similar only spicy. I added about 2 tablespoons of grated parm to it just before serving. It was delicious and EASY! Definitely making again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used fresh broccoli but loved the idea of mushrm soup. fast and tasty. Used cheddar shredded. The recipe is the same. enjoyed it tremendously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I used fresh broccoli (ran it through the food processor) and shredded cheese. It didn't add much extra time. It worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I added vegetable stock (one bullion cube) and one sauteed onion with about a Tablespoon of oil. Recipe alone will give you a very bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This will now replace my old recipe So simple and Delicious! I did add garlic an onion an used all chedar cheese very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This has got to be one of the easiest soup I've ever made... and it was fantastic! I used Velveeta, because though I'm not a huge fan of the stuff, I know it melts better and has a better consistency... it was wonderful. I also used frozen broccoli - I thought the pieces might be too big, but they turned out great. Add personalized seasonings, and this is good to go, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Actually, 3 stars is higher than I'd have rated it if I hadn't altered the recipe a bit. I sauteed a small chopped onion before adding the rest of the ingredients, and the taste was simply "off". Thanks for sharing the recipe, but I'm going to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
So simple! PERFECT dish when you come home on a chilly evening and need a quick hot meal to warm you up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great, flexible recipe. I used fresh broccoli that I steamed. And used cheddar soup instead of one of the cream ones. Then used shredded cheddar for the cheese. Had to add more milk cause it was pretty thick. But turned out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States