Easy Cheesy Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I've made a this recipe several times but I really combined it with another one we like. My two kids don't agree on very many dishes (one doesn't like chicken the other doesn't like beef dishes) but this one, they both like. We started adding a package of dry italian dressing mix to the seasoning for the chicken. For all of you who wrote that this recipe is bland, try that. And, by family preference we don't use cream of mushroom soup (my daughter can taste/smell that ingredient from a mile away). We use a can of cream of celery or just 2 cans of cream of chicken. Also, we've used fat free soup and fat free sour cream too. It doesn't seem to affect this recipe's taste to use fat free (that lets me add bacon to another recipe later :-}). Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
PERFECT FOR ENCHILADAS! I don't know if it's fair to give this recipe 5 stars since I've changed it so much (per another reviewer's comments), but this is so fantastic you can't pass it up! Changes to make killer enchiladas with lots of flavor: Preheat oven to 350 degrees; after the chicken is done cooking, remove it from the crock pot & shred it; in a large bowl, mix together the shredded chicken, the cheese mixture it cooked in, & the sour cream; spread the chicken mixture into large flour tortillas & roll into burritos; place burritos on a cookie sheet; pour 1 can enchilada sauce (adjust to your tastes & # of servings) over burritos; sprinkle shredded cheese & sliced black olives over burritos; cook enchiladas in oven for 10 min., or until cheese is melted. Remove and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Loved this EASY EASY recipe! Who would have thought??? I cooked mine on high for 3 hours and during the last hour of cooking, added a bag of frozen chopped broccoli and 1/2 cup fresh, sliced mushrooms. I forgot to add the sour cream but we didn't notice it. I may try it next time just to see how it tastes. Served with rice and the meal was complete! This is a great "end of a busy day" meal. Thanks Leslye!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Wonderful and extremely easy! I added a package of frozen stir fry vegetables and an 8 oz can of mushrooms during the last hour of cooking. Also, I only cooked this for 4 hours on high. I wanted a lot of sauce and my chicken breast pieces were pretty large, so I used 2 cans of celery soup, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of mushroom soup and 1 can of the cheese soup. I tasted it before I added the sour cream (light) and it tasted great, but even better after I added it. I also added some crushed red pepper to give it a zing. I served this over rice. After adding the extra ingredients, it needed more salt, so I added a bit more. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This recipe is AWESOME. I took the chicken breasts out of the slow cooker about an hour before we were going to eat. I then added minute rice to the sauce and put the chicken back in, covered and let it cook for an hour. The rice turned out fantastic. Even my 3 year old LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This was easy and cheesy! HEHE! I did add one can cream of chicken soup, and two cans of cream of cheddar soup to make sure it was a great cheesy flavor. I boiled up some spiral pastas and tossed them in just before serving and the kids thought it was a great macaroni and cheese. Good easy dish. I cooked mine for 6 hours and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I liked the ease of this one. Slow cookers are great tools for working moms. I definately reccommend using the breast called for as I used bone-in thighs and breasts that I had on hand. While tasty, the meat of course fell off the bone and the bone/blood juices discolored the cheese sauce making it appear unappetizing. Definately use boneless breasts! Also, I actually forgot to mix in the sour cream at the end and didn't realize it till the next day! Never missed it! Great taste. Wonderful over rice or noodles. Has alot of potential for adding personal favorites - like broccoli, mushrooms, peas etc! Easy for a novice cook too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This was very good. I could not find cheddar cheese soup so I added 4 oz. low fat Velveeta; also used low fat/low sodium soups and sour cream; added 1/4 c. white wine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
You couldn't ask for an easier crockpot recipe than this. The chicken breasts were so tender, you didn't even need a knife. I took the advice of other reviews and added one large bag of frozen broccoli and lots of sliced mushrooms. Next time, I'll add sliced carrots as well. Definitely add veggies for more flavor - - I think it would have been quite bland with just the ingredients written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This recipe was so easy, and tasty. I add broccoli cheese soup in place of the mushroom and cheese soup to add more falavor and cut down on the salt. I also seasoned the chicken with garlic, pepper, greek, and put minced onion in with the soup mixture. Served over brown rice. Came out wonderful and even my picky husband went back for more. Will make again for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States