Easy Cheese Ball II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was OK. The taste was pretty good. My main complaint was that after chilling it was very hard, not spreadable at all. I guess it needs to be brought to AT LEAST room temperature before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommasangelbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Super easy and pretty too! It adapts to any kind of shredded cheese. I used mozzerella and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Yummy! Kinda reminds me of beer dip, which is also delicious. This was super easy to make. Per other reviewers suggestions I did get Real Bacon Bits. I suggest using half bacon/half pecans. That combo is amazing, you wouldn't expect pecans and bacon to go together, but they compliment each other perfectly. I also used extra sharp cheddar and toasted the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe made 2 orange-sized balls... rolled one in walnuts, one in "real" bacon bits. Use your hands to mix this, much easier, and you can roll it in a ball this way as well. Make sure to leave your cream cheese on the countertop for a few minutes before beginning or else it will be impossible to blend or to shape... has to be soft. Was skeptical about the ranch dressing packet, sampled the stuff left in the bowl after I was finished and was satisfied with the end result, however, I do think they will be even better after being chilled so the ingredients can simmer in themselves. Good recipe, my first cheese ball ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I make this every year for Thanksgiving & Christmas. It is always gone before I can even get a bite. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe using the handy dandy recipe multiplier (for a church function) and it was a huge hit! I used "hint of salt" Ritz crackers. I just had someone call me for the recipe. lol Based on one of the reviews, I did make it the day before and was glad I did. I could see where the taste would be stronger if eaten the same day (I tried it while I was making it). That is also why I decided to use the lower salt crackers (based on a review), but Ritz crackers are too flaky. You need a more substantial surface to spread or dip into the cheese. But this is just excellent! The next time I make it, however, I may add an extra 4 oz. of cream cheese. Has anyone ever frozen it? I had enough to make a small cheese ball and wondered if it could be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic. My favorite cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I love cheese balls but this one just didnt' do it for me. I made it one evening and refrigerated it over night. It never really softened up and it seemed a bit dry. A little texture may have helped like some choppped onions or water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great tang added with the ranch. If you want a little more crunch on the inside finely dice some red and yellow peppers. It gives it a great flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Okay everyone, here's the trick to take this cheese ball from good to superior... get a jar of dried beef to chop and add to the mix. BUT, be sure to allow enough time for this to sit in the fridge over night. It seems to make such a huge difference by allowing 12-24 hours for the flavors to meld together. Every time I make this, people ask for the recipe and they usually ask, "what's that added flavor, can't quite figure it out"? Dried beef..... ah! Keeps 'em guessing all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States