Easy Cheese Ball II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Since I was doing SO much cooking Christmas Eve, I needed an appetizer to throw together in a pinch that was more than just sliced cheese and crackers. This turned out to be a BIG hit. I'm sure the recipe is fine as is. However, I tweaked it a bit. I always keep freeze dried chives in the fridge, so I threw a palm full of those in, and added an extra cup of shredded cheese. Took another AR cohorts suggestion of rolling it in real bacon bits. The recipe made enough for two cheese wheels. This is a good, basic recipe you can embellish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this for Christmas and shaped it like a snowman. I added some of the white cheddar cheese to the mix but also rolled it in the grated cheese to make it look like snow. I used chocolate chips to make eyes and buttons and mini chocolate chips to make the mouth. I used a piece of candy corn for the nose, but it bled after being put in the refrigerator for a few hours. I forgot the snowman's scarf, which I was going to make out of a carrot using a potato peeler to slice off a long sliver. The hat was a sociable cracker with a Rolo on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I read the review that suggested adding more cream cheese, so had an extra block on hand. As written, it was too strong for my taste. With the extra block of cream cheese, it was perfect. I also added some green onions. I might try adding 1 Tbsp. of worcestershire sauce next time. Delicious! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Oh My Stars! I was asked to make a cheese ball for an office pot luck. I had never made (or even really ate one) before so I searched and came up with this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe called for except cutting down the pecans to 1 cup. I made it a day ahead of time and it was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved it, including me. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Wilkins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Made this super easy super good recipe, added dried cranberries to the pecans when I rolled out the ball for a festive Christmas Cheese Ball. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenofLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
first time I made this I didn't have nuts in the house so just made it as a cheese spread & now make this all the time as my daughter and husband love it. I use extra sharp cheddar, & add a dash of worcestershire sauce. blend it well then pack it into small glass bowls with covers. Simple, fast and always well received. Better the next day but very, very good even when freshly made. great on crackers and as filling for celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I used (1) 8 oz block of cream cheese & (1) 8 oz container of chive and onion flavored cream cheese-this added some great flavor!! Blended them together thoroughly. Added only (1) rounded tablespoon of dry ranch dressing mix--not entire package. Added finely grated sharp cheddar cheese to taste. Also had some finely grated Parmesan cheese so added some of that also. No measurements- just eyeballed it. Added a splash of Worstershire sauce and about (1/2) teaspoon of garlic powder. Mixed thoroughly. Formed (2) cheese balls from this mixture and chilled for about 2 hours. I toasted my pecans then chopped them. After the cheese balls had chilled, then rolled in chopped pecans. Very tasty and pretty!! Giving one as a Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was OK. The taste was pretty good. My main complaint was that after chilling it was very hard, not spreadable at all. I guess it needs to be brought to AT LEAST room temperature before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Super easy and pretty too! It adapts to any kind of shredded cheese. I used mozzerella and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Yummy! Kinda reminds me of beer dip, which is also delicious. This was super easy to make. Per other reviewers suggestions I did get Real Bacon Bits. I suggest using half bacon/half pecans. That combo is amazing, you wouldn't expect pecans and bacon to go together, but they compliment each other perfectly. I also used extra sharp cheddar and toasted the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States