Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have worked as a chef for a few years and I am always keen to try new recipes. I was looking for a new cheese scone recipe. I came across this one and tried it. On the first attempt I was not very impressed. I tried again but changed a few things. I put 6tps (90g butter) like other people recommed. Also the amonut of milk stated was way to much you only need. 2/3 of a cup (175mls). Also I see alot of other people have had problems with the dough being very sticky. It is ment to be quite stick but one you have made the dough. Before flatening and cooking. Put in a bowl and cover with cling film. Put in fridge for 20-30min. This will alow dough to rest and will give flour time to absorb milk. You will end with a scones that are not sogy and the dough will be easier to handle. One final thing The temperature of oven that is stated in recipe if far to high. You should cook at 180c max. If you cook at a lower temperature then it will cook better and the scones will be light with that crubley texture that so many of you are looking for. Rather than sogy and heavy.If you cook at a very high temperature the out side will cook befor the inside and will result in the inside not cooking proberly. after making these ajustments my second batch of scone came out fantastic. They were the best I have tasted. I hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a pretty good recipe, but it needed some tweaking. 2 tbps butter is WAY too little for scones--most recipes call for 6-8 tbps. I used 6. I also increased the cheese to 1 cup, and I used 1/3 each cotswold (sharp english cheddar), aged parmesan, and fotina. I tossed in 2 tbps chopped fresh rosemary, and increased the garlic to 3 cloves. With these additions, the recipe turned out perfectly...otherwise, I think it would have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Good! I used about 1/4 tsp of garlic pwdr instead of the clove. Also, didn't have self rising flour so I used reg. flour + 2 tsps. bkg pwdr and about a 1/4 tsp. more of salt. This is a very nice basic recipe, might try 1/2 tsp. of Italian herbs in it next time. Or maybe a pinch of cayenne pepper for some kick. Could also be made with a variety of different cheeses...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These were really really good. I used 1/2 whole wheat and half white flour, adding 1.5 tbsp baking powder per cup to make it self-rising. I subbed a romano and asiago blend for the cheese, and added some chopped fresh herbs along with the garlic. (I chopped the garlic, some fresh rosemary, basil, parsley and flaked red chilis, and cooked them in some olive oil for about a minute in the mike to take some of the bite out of the garlic. This allowed me to use a lot more, but keep the mellow yummy garlic flavour instead of the harsh raw garlic flavour.) Oh -and I didn't knead or roll these -too sticky. I wet my hands and rolled them gently into balls, flattening them on the greased cookie sheet. My guests couldn't stop eating these -best hot, and I served with chunky tomato potato soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
The whole family loved these. They said they tasted very much like the cheese biscuits that they so like at Red Lobster. I used a round biscuit cutter instead of pie wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I make a very similar recipe with self-raising flour but use 4 tbls. of butter. I find that otherwise they are tough. Also use other herbs (basil, oregano, etc.). Hope this is useful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Very heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good - texture like a biscuit. Used Havarti instead of cheddar because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Mmmm, tasty! I could eat a whole bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States