Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
It was so easy to whip up and my daughter absolutely loved them. An easy way to impress guests staying for the weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I love this recipe. My boyfriend wolfed down half the batch really quick. So did I. I added some flaked parsley for a bit of colour, and i sprinkled a bit of cheese on top of the scones. This made them look like the scones you get from the shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Izatie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
From reading the other reviews, made some changes and turned out great! Doubled the butter and the garlic, (we're garlic lovers) added 1 tsp. of baking powder since I didn't have self-rising flour, added 1 chopped green onion and sundried tomatoes. Before baking, I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled some sesame seeds on top, and they were fantastic! Were gobbled up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Good! I used about 1/4 tsp of garlic pwdr instead of the clove. Also, didn't have self rising flour so I used reg. flour + 2 tsps. bkg pwdr and about a 1/4 tsp. more of salt. This is a very nice basic recipe, might try 1/2 tsp. of Italian herbs in it next time. Or maybe a pinch of cayenne pepper for some kick. Could also be made with a variety of different cheeses...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a pretty good recipe, but it needed some tweaking. 2 tbps butter is WAY too little for scones--most recipes call for 6-8 tbps. I used 6. I also increased the cheese to 1 cup, and I used 1/3 each cotswold (sharp english cheddar), aged parmesan, and fotina. I tossed in 2 tbps chopped fresh rosemary, and increased the garlic to 3 cloves. With these additions, the recipe turned out perfectly...otherwise, I think it would have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These were great and very easy. I was a little bit concerned about how wet and sticky the dough was, but they turned out just fine. Added a little bit of rosemary just for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I make a very similar recipe with self-raising flour but use 4 tbls. of butter. I find that otherwise they are tough. Also use other herbs (basil, oregano, etc.). Hope this is useful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Very easy to make. I added extra garlic and a bit more cheese for extra flavour. We had them with spaghetti instead of the usual garlic bread. When my roommate saw them he said "Why did you make those? I HATE savoury scones!" and then five minutes later, he told me I should make them again. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very easy and tasty too. My four yrs old boy who is a picky eater seems like cant stop eating it. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I make cheese scones quite often as my girls like them for their packed lunch boxes, but I'd never thought to put garlic in them. So when I saw these reviewed I had to give them a try. What can I say I've ditched the recipe I've been using for years in favour of this one. I will be trying other reviewers suggestions as well, the chives and sun dried tomatoes. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States